Blackberries - Uses and Benefits

in #homesteading6 years ago

IMG_20160426_175335 (2).jpg

Blackberries are known for their tart and sweet flavor, and the leaves are used in teas for a number of different reasons. Many people see the plant as not only trail nibble, a great jam, wine and pie berry producer, but also as a seriously invasive pest. Touting some of nature's best qualities all rolled into one plant, it has the aggressive behavior of Sumac, spreading by rhizome taking over where left unchecked.

BLACKBERRY PLANT BASICS

In my neck of the woods blackberries grow EVERYWHERE. In fact the plant has a tendency to squeeze out others once it gets established. If they were not so incredibly sweet, accessible, healthy and abundant, I am sure people would find a way to contain them quick. Blackberries are native to many countries in many continents. Seems to be a plant that has been established on this planet from the beginning. In fact, there are many scientific stories of unearthing people with blackberries in the stomachs.

Invasiveness and Plant Uses

The only way to rid your area of the blackberry plant is to completely remove the roots. COMPLETELY! Small bits of root will shoot off new saplings and grow those root systems all over again. I trim the plants back and pull out the root systems when they start encroaching into unwanted areas. I do this using heavy gloves, the thorns are the worst problem to contend with. Once cleared I take the thorny branches and stack them along the edges of my fencing to discourage small pests from entering. I also use them in my branch compost and Huglekultrs, as they are loaded with soil positive matter.

0601161639 (2).jpg

Compounds and Components

Blackberries are high in fiber and protein. These little suckers pack a punch due to their high antioxidant content, amino acids and their potent vitamin and mineral content.

Vitamins
Vitamin A, Thiamine (B1), Riboflavin (B2), Niacin (B3), Vitamin B6, Folate (B9), Vitamin C, Vitamin E, Vitamin K

Minerals
Calcium, Iron, Magnesium, Phosphorus, Potassium , Sodium, Zinc

Antioxidants and Such
Phenolic Acids, Flavonoids, Flavonols, Anthocyanosides, carotenoids, ellagitannins, ellagic, acidomega-3 (alpha-linolenic acid), omega-6 fats (linoleic acid), cyaniding-3-O-glucoside

IMG_20160426_175300 (2).jpg

Uses

Blackberries have, since records have shown, been used as trail nibble. Eating small steady quantities of these berries is above healthy for your body. It is a continual addition of needed, and craved for, compounds and a plethora of goodness. Eaten this way, on a regular basis, during season, increases my body's ability to withstand immune issues in the cooler season ahead.

Other common uses of blackberries include, tea, syrup, jam, jelly, pie filling and salad additions. The low sugar content, surprisingly, makes for awesome syrups, jams and jellies. I use the berries in salads, with other berries, as a booster, and in my oatmeal. The berries themselves are quite tart and many people are turned off by the taste and aftertaste. I scarf em' down regardless because I find they give me an energy boost. I try not to eat too many raw berries though, they will make you poop! :) Yet drinking a tea of the leaves (and or bark) help alleviate diarrhea, amazing how that works.

IMG_20160426_175346 (2).jpg

Benefits

The benefits of these berries are far to numerous to mention, but I will list a few that I find to be most useful.
Anti-

  • inflammatory
  • cancer
  • free radical
  • oxygen free molecules
  • aging

They are an astringent, help reverse and control abnormal functioning of the inner lining of blood vessels, boosts your immune system, boosts your cognitive ability, helps improve digestion, their high protein and low sugar content can aid in weight loss, help heal bones and curb the problem with stones, since the body is in-taking usable calcium instead of pulling it from the bones, and the vitamins are VERY skin friendly.

What a great addition to my diet. I even add them to my coffee when I am in the mood for a little flavor, which is not often, but it's delicious.

Remember to eat those seeds, they are super high in many aspects of the berry. In fact the seeds are what contain the omega fatty acids.

20180223_084603 (2).jpg

Maintenance

I trim the bushes back in the winter. I do this because it is far easier to see what you are getting into when you stick your arm in to trim. Depending on where they are located I will trim them specifically to the location. Close to the house I usually keep them trimmed down under 3 feet. Out on the trails, I keep them off the trail and back about 3 feet, since they grow crazy fast. If i am using them to pick from, I usually carve out a walk in area. It is, though, far easier to do this when they are overwintering.

Sidenote
@fernowl13 recently posted about how to notice those who are not homesteaders, well this morning I was cooking eggs and toast for breakfast, and a funny thing happened! My daughter, came up to me as I was cooking looked at me and said "Dad, what is that?", pointing at the Eggs on the counter. I had two brown eggs from our chickens and two white eggs from the store left over from when our chickens were not producing. Then she said "What kind of eggs are those? Ghost eggs? Are the chickens sick?, That's just weird!" I had to fall out laughing, I guess this is an addition to @fernowl13 's post You Know Your a Homesteader When... Sorry had to tell that one.

Well please up-vote and follow if you like my content. I will continue to post similar articles on plants, homegrown foods, gardening and homesteading ideas. Again thanks for dropping in. Remember that this is not medical advice nor do I prescribe anything to anyone. This post is for educational purposes only. Your body is your temple, treat it well. Have a great garden!


Directory of Steemit Posts
Community Forums

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been added to our growing directory of Steemit post for the Homesteading/Survival communities. If you haven't done so already, you can claim your badge along with the code to add to your posts to let the world know you have chosen to help others Survive, Thrive and be Prepared! Click here to get the code

I didn't know that about the leaves. We are in the midst of transitioning our small yard to more of a permaculture setting, but it takes a bit. We have planted a bunch of raspberry canes that were overgrowing a friend's garden, and now I guess we should get some blackberries too.

Thanks for the info.

Just keep them in check!

10-4 on that. I'm sure they are like the raspberries and just keep sprouting new shoots all the time. Luckily we love to make jam and treats.

Great post thanks

Your very welcome! thanks for reading!

I dehydrate the leaves to feed to the layers in winter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70181.59
ETH 3549.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74