You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem can wait, I need to grow

in #homesteading6 years ago

Steemit does take a lot of time. My garden is calling me now, too. Soon it will be rainy season and my garden will thrive (hopefully). As far as your avocado tree goes, I can tell you that they do best in temperatures from 60-85F with moderate humidity. They don't like cold (like me). They definitely don't like anything below freezing. Avocados don't drink water very well when they are young (shallow root system). So be careful of sun damage to leaves when they are small. They also don't like a lot of wind.

It can take up to 10 years for an avocado tree to produce fruit when grown from seed. My trees 5 years old now and haven't even flowered. So I guess I need to be a bit more patient!

Sort:  

Wow just 10 years... doesn't seem that long for a tree that can grow so big. In Peru in the Andes the trees become really massive from what I remember of picking avocados off the ground near Machu Pitchu.

Thanks for the info on the root system, the sun and their ability to drink water. I'd like to grow one too

You're welcome.

Thanks for the tips on the avocado - I have put it in on the kitchen windowsill for now.

It will probably do well in the smaller pot until it becomes root bound and wants to be planted outside.

I think it will always need to be in a pot so I can bring it in during the winter.

Our winter temperatures often drop down to about -5 C / 23 F.

Brrrr! That's cold!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65836.42
ETH 2694.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87