Smallholding Diaries Week 23 - Tomatoes, Quail and Turnips!

in #homesteading7 years ago

There's one thing to be said about life on my little urban smallholding; it's far from boring. There's always something new to sow, chickens to clean or a project to start.

Smallholding Diaries gives you a little glimpse into my life. The 'homestead' is only a back garden so there's not enough for a daily vlog. Instead, I take a one minute video every day for Instagram and then cut them together.

This is week 23.....

Quails



The Coturnix quail are growing fast. I have five that are now 7 weeks so it's time to identify the males to be culled for the freezer. The last group of the year are now 2 weeks old - it's incredible how fast they grow!

Vegetables



In the veggie patch, the seasonal change means I'm moving away from summery salads and tomatoes and towards winter crops. I've got a final planting of lettuce to pop out, whilst I'm starting to harvest my first ever turnips! Purple Top Milan has turned out great. Snowball? I have NO idea what happened there but it's a dismal failure.

Meanwhile, I'm busy harvesting sunflower seeds as you might have seen in the article Harvesting Sunflower Seeds, whilst the last compost heap turn of the year is here. I don't like to turn it any later in case I disturb hibernating creatures like hedgehogs, slow worms or frogs.

Budgies



As you know, my two pairs of budgies have been protesting against me by not laying eggs - Budgie Breeding Sagas. So I spent Friday scrubbing down an old indoor flight I'd been keeping chicks in and then hauled it up the stairs yesterday and popped all four birds in together.

IMG_20170924_162521_422.jpg

Well Venus has already begun exploring nestboxes - though she's been doing this for months. But here's hoping that with more birds in her flight, she find the need to lay!

Until next time!

THANKS FOR READING - PLEASE CONSIDER UPVOTING, RESTEEMING AND REPLYING BELOW

You can find me on YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and Patreon

Sort:  

Hi @brimwoodfarm, I do like the format of the compilation of the daily instagram videos. Very informative and good pace.

Thanks @pennsif. It's a good motivator to get something done too; I'm very easily distracted into idleness... ;)

wow @brimwoodfarm nice one...i like quals... do you eat their eggs.... for the vegs...what do you plan on for them during winter and whats your fertilizing options

Hey @kenhudoy. Yep, eat the eggs and also the birds themselves. For fertiliser I just use homemade compost and well rotted chicken manure. Mostly the winter will be kale, chard, overwintering lettuces and not a lot else, though I'll be doing microgreens indoors.

great and wish you all the best... do check my blog posts as i posted a lot on gardening and sustainable farming.. good luck

I love how you name your birds. "That's Barry, shut it Anesha(sp?)", haha. Your tomatoes look delicious. I've not had the best luck with snowball turnips either. You are a delight to watch and I look forward to seeing future posts.

Thank you! Yeah - I name everyone that's NOT due for the pot.

Don't know what happened to the snowball - especially as they're growing right next to the purple top milan which HAVE grown. Very odd!

Congratulations @brimwoodfarm! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

The rooster made me laugh! Almost like he's saying "Excuse me! Why aren't you talking about me!? A bit louder now! ME!!" Lol!

How have you found the brooder plate? Have you had it for long? I'm contemplating investing in one, but I've heard mixed reports. Also, what brand is yours?

Sorry, only just noticed this comment!! Barry is SOOOO loud. He always goes off on one when I'm in the garden.

In regards to brooder plate - I'd say get one. WAY cheaper to run than a light bulb and the chicks loved it. It also weaned them off the heat for quicker. I've used it for both quail and chickens now and it's worked a treat. I think mine was only about £30 and is by comfort chicks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66297.29
ETH 2682.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87