Turning the Broken into Something New on the Homestead!!!

in #homesteading6 years ago

IMG_3243.JPG

We have an old tobacco barn on our homestead. It has been left to rot for about 30 years. The foundation is rotten and collapsing, most of the rafters are coming apart. The roof is blowing off. This barn is past the economical point to rebuild it. What I love though is that out of this broken down barn my family has been able to make some amazing things. I would like to share with you some of the things we have salvaged from this old barn.

The first is an American flag that we made out of the wood siding from the barn. My wife is the painter. I was just the builder of the flag, then she gave it the character. Also right below it is a bench that I made out of some of the rafters and some oak beams I ripped down. It weighs a ton but it will also hold a ton.

IMG_3252.JPG

My wife saw one of those ladder blanket holders at an antique store one day and she really wanted to buy it. I told her I would just make her one. So out of some more lumber from that barns frame we were able to make our very own blanket holder ladder.

IMG_3253.JPG

Next up is a sign that we made from the barn siding and this sign is on our fire place mantel.

IMG_3254.JPG

The last thing I will show you that we have made out of that old barn wood is my son’s beds. This was by far my biggest wood working furniture project to date, and if I do say so myself…they turned out pretty well.

IMG_3257.JPG

Those are the items that I have made from that old barn so far for the house. I will have to do another post sometime on all the outside items we have used that barn to make. I think it is amazing how a little time and effort can turn an old barn that is just rotting away into some good looking house furniture. The best part is that it was all basically free, we only had to buy some paint, wood stain, and a few nails. I hope this can inspire some of you to be on the lookout for things that are around you every day that might be considered junk or trash that you can repurpose and give new life back into.

Sort:  

Way to go with re-using that historic wood!

Great items and they'll be around a long time! The wood from those old barns can't be beat.

Loved this post! We also have an old tobacco shed, and used the 100 year old siding from it for wainscoting in the house. For over 30 years we've used the poles for fencing around the yard. Loved the stuff you made!

There is so much wood in these old barns. Glad to hear someone else is using the old tobacco sheds too! Thank you for the comment and stopping by. Have a great day!

What an awesome way to use what others would just tear down!! I bet you could find a whole bunch of projects with what's left too! :)

Yes we have a lot of projects planned. We have already built a small barns for the chickens and the dairy cow out of it also.

You are very handy! I wish we had some old buildings like that we could take advantage of. There’s plenty of old buildings in the area, but none on our property.

Beautiful workmanship! I love that old barn wood furniture. AND THE FLAG! Wow!

Thank you. I cannot take credit for the flag. I did the easy part. My wife painted it

Man, I'm in love with that bench under the flag! That thing is amazing!

Thank you sir!

Lots of great pieces of furniture and decorative items have already come from the old barn. Can’t wait for you to show us what else you decide to build. 🐓🐓

Thank you very much!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30