What can Quail do for you? Part one: The Incredible, and very edible, quail egg.

The wonderful quail egg. A nutrient and protein packed powerhouse in a package smaller than a golf ball. Used for centuries across the world for food, medicinal and religious purposes, the mighty quail egg is a versatile and healthy addition to any diet!

Nutritional facts:


Quail eggs contain a TON of nutrition in a very small package, containing up to 4 times the nutritional value vs a chicken egg. When it comes to protein, the quail egg has a slightly larger yolk to white ratio, meaning it will have a higher protein content (13%) over a chicken (10%-11%) B Vitamins, Iron, Potassium, and Calcium are all higher than compared to a chicken egg.
If you have an allergic reaction sensitivity to chicken eggs, quail eggs are a great substitute! Quail eggs do not cause diathesis or allergies and in fact help fight the allergy symptoms due to ovomucoid protein they contain.
My favorite part, is that they contain no bad cholesterol! They are great for lowering bad cholesterol levels and keeping a healthy heart.

According to many Eastern Medicinal practices, quail eggs have a great health benefit. They have been known to treat stomach ailments such as ulcers and nausea. In Chinese medicine, quail eggs are used in the treatment of diabetes, asthma and tuberculosis. They are also known to help boost the immune system, and improve focus and memory. Substituting quail eggs in your diet can greatly improve your health!

There are huge benefits to adding these little buggers to your diet. Quail are a wonderful bird to raise. They take up a very small amount of space and food, grow quickly, and produce LOTS AND LOTS of eggs! A dozen female quail would take up 6-8 sq ft of space and produce up to 3600+ eggs a year! That would be nearly a dozen eggs a day for one person!

These eggs can be a great benefit to any diet and healthy lifestyle. You can cook them like any other egg, and enjoy them in any recipe. My favorite? Pickled!

Thank you for stopping by Steemers, your support is greatly appreaciated!

Sort:  

Iv been pondering about getting quail, good inspiration! thank you!

Thanks for reading and I hope you do!

Pretty cool. Are they harder to peel, crack, and in use in general? Seems like they would be since they're so small... Not to say they wouldn't be worth the extra effort. Also, how's the meat? And those shells are soo pretty! Following an re-steemed!!

Thanks for the resteem and follow! They can be a little harder to crack, their shell is a little thicker than a chicken and the membrane is tougher. They are really easy to peel hard boiled, just need to crack the whole shell first and peel it off, or soak in vinegar for 2-3 hours to dissolve the shell then peel. When cracking them raw you can get quail egg scissors that are the easiest to use. You will always get a little shell in it, but it breaks down really well and i have never really noticed them in my scrambled eggs. Hope that helps and thanks for your support!

The meat is great! I love doing them shake and bake style. I get about 3oz or 4oz per bird, some jumbos are 10-12oz and they are plate ready in 8 weeks so you can produce them fast. They also lay celedon blue eggs from time to time that are so neat!

Wow, such unique creatures! So many gifts! Thank you or the info!

I didn't realize that quail eggs are so nutritionally dense! Good to know.

I've considered growing quail but I'm not sure if it would work for us. I eat a lot of eggs, 6-12 a day and I wonder how many quail eggs I would need to replace that.

On the flip side though I think I have heard that you can pickle the quail eggs with the shell on which would be interesting and possibly a time saver.

You can soak them in vinegar to dissolve the shells, but you could just peel off the membrane as you go if you pickle them like that i guess, never tried it good idea! i love them cajun pickle style, or hard boiled with salt. Depending on the eggs, 3-5 quail eggs would make one chicken egg. If you do decide to raise them, id suggest jumbo browns. 10oz meat birds and larger eggs than standard quail. I hope you give it a try they are great birds!

They sound like it. Definitely compelling from a meat perspective since they mature so quickly.

Whaaaa!!!? 6-12 eggs a day is a recipe for health, I'd say! Good for you! I tell my sons to eat their eggs bc they build big strong muscles like their dad's haha.

Yeah, I started doing it when I was powerlifting. Now I just do it because it is a convenient meal. Most of the time I eat them raw.

Yes I do too. I usually blend them with raw milk and maple syrup

That sounds awesome! You might already know this, raw eggs are one of the few foods that increase the bodies own production of glutathione. The most powerful anti-oxidant.

I did not know that, very cool!

My 4 year old daughter loves quail eggs. She calls them baby eggs. I have never seen that nutrition chart. Very interesting

They are such a great treat! I love them hard boiled with salt, its a great snack!

Well, I've known for a while that I want quial when we move out of town. Now I think I'm shooting for this spring.

I've been deeply interested in medicinal herbs for years, and more recently I've been learning about the medicinal benefits of everyday veggies. I know eggs are healthy, but I had no idea they were medicinally beneficial!

Thanks for the article and the time you put into it.

Thanks for reading and sharing! Ill be sharing more quail information as the days go by. I plan to have a multi part aeries and my "introductory content" to steemit. I love this community so far!

Excellent, I’ll be watching!

I had no idea they laid so many eggs. Me and my dad used to hunt them when I was a kid but that's the only exposure I've had to Quail. May have to look into it a little more. Thanks for the info

I raise coturnix quail, which lay 300+ a year if given a good environment. They are a cage breed and take up very little space. You can raise hunting/game quails as well. You can stock land for hunters and conservation areas. Ill post more quail info about raising them soon!

Sweet. That be great. Look forward to the post's.

Thanks for the great info. I have wanted to raise these quail for a long time, and you have inspired me to gear up sooner rather than later. Best...

Great post!

We raised coturnix quail, and their eggs are quite wonderful. Very elegant looking too if you are a foodie and want to serve a plate that will impress.

We loved the fact they they start providing eggs so young. It's not the many month waiting game like it is with chickens. The guys enjoyed the meat, 2-3 quail per meal per person I think was the norm. They are very quick and easy to process, you don't need any special equipment to do it.

Sadly, our quail didn't like me. I would enter the room and they would start freaking out smashing themselves against the roof of their cage etc. My husband would go in and they'd be calm and relaxed. Animals usually love me and I'm a vegetarian (lol), I don't know why they didn't like me.

We don't raise quail anymore, I didn't like the cage/indoor aspect of raising them. We might try again when we can give them an outdoor space in the summer ...maybe.

I love seeing more of my friends / neighbors on here

Oh. The last picture made me have an epiphany... Pickled eggs. Me: Never heard about it but also me: I will try this as soon as possible! Yummy. At night on steemit the images and articles about food always get me the most... Hungry again?

My favorite is spicy cajun eggs. I use the liquid crab boil, garlic, onion and red pepper. Goes amazing with cold beer or a snort of whiskey on the rocks! Keep in mind there is no shelf stable recipe, and they must be kept refrigerated, lest you risk botulism.

Hey @armadillocreek. I will enjoy my cold beer now.. Sorry I don't get the last part of your comment: " lest you risk botulism.".. Anyhow. Have agood night, and thanks!

If you dont keep them cold, botulism, a very bad bacteria, can grow. It could be a fatal case of food poisoning. Sorry for the confusion, have a great night!

OUCH!. So one got to be careful. Thanks for pointing out, as I probably would have pu the pickled eggs to the other pickles and not in the fridge.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70