You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Goat hoof-trimming and copper-bolusing: This is how we do it!

This is great. I had no idea how to trim their toes, until my vet showed me. It is much more difficult to do on the sheep...actually everything is more difficult with them.
How do you feel the copper pill does vs what is in bagged minerals? I had not heard about doing way, but I am still a beginner with the livestock.

I am super glad everyday that they are still alive.

Sort:  

I didn't see this comment when I looked earlier for some reason...
Personally , I would much rather they get their copper from their loose minerals. I have yet to find a bagged mineral that does it though... Maybe I need to look online and buy a fancy expensive one...
Giving copper boluses is annoying, they hate it and I dont like it much either.

Im curious, how is trimming sheeps' hooves more difficult? I have almost no sheep experience. I assumed it would be pretty much the same thing. I recently bought a baby lamb and will eventually have to do her feet too. (Was supposed to do it with everyone elses, but she had come down with a case of new-home-stress scours, and I sure wasnt holding her on my lap with a runny butt.)

It is the same process, just the sheep are larger and they like humans less. Of course, I got mine as adults and the transport was kinda traumatic for one of them. Wrestling a 100# plus animal is not my favorite thing, though.

Oh okay, LOL! Well, hopefully, with this lamb being bottle fed and totally lovable and tame, she will cooperate better... Hopefully!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65628.71
ETH 2669.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86