Kitchen Happenings: Kefir Chive Cream Cheese, Venison Jerky & Healthier Dog Treats

in #homesteadersonline6 years ago (edited)

kitchen.jpg

Image Source


Kefir Cream Cheese With Chives


Last week I started my first batch of kefir and am DEEPLY in love with the new milk! The creamy texture and the tangy flavor has won me over. But I am NOT much of milk drinker, but I am BIG cheese fanatic!

So I decided to use my first four-cup batch of kefir to make some homemade cream cheese. Easy recipe too!

Take the prepared kefir and pour into a cheesecloth covered strainer; which is hovering over a bowl to catch the liquid as it drips. Tie the ends together and place a heavy bowl on top of the cheesecloth. This helps the liquid drain off the soft kefir.


6.jpg


While the kefir is draining ; which can take quite a few hours (I left mine in the refrigerator overnight) I made a new batch of kefir from the 1/4 cup I had reserved when making the original batch last week. So now I have some spreadable chive cream cheese for my morning toast as well as a fresh batch of kefir for waiting for my next cheese creation.

Four hours after I started the kefir draining, I added some chopped chives (about 1 tablespoon) and a pinch of kosher salt.


5.jpg

The next morning I had my special treat and it was DELICIOUS!


Venison Jerky


Well our gifted supply of venison is dwindling and before it was all gone, I took the last back strap and made some jerky. We haven't had jerky in months and I knew my husband would appreciate the treat; as he is cut off from processed lunchmeats and other high fat processed foods. But this was venison jerky; a leaner cut of meat and lower in fat content, plus I whipped up my own seasoning. I don't have the exact recipe as I just toss in what I think will taste good.

Some of the ingredients included:


  • Minced (dehydrated) onion
  • Crushed red pepper flakes
  • Cayenne pepper
  • Garlic powder
  • Salt and cracked peppercorns
  • Oregano flakes
  • Worcestershire sauce
  • Olive oil

1.jpg

As my husband munched on this unexpected treat last night, he kept saying... "dang this is the best jerky!" I knew he meant well, but what he was really saying was this, "Dang! I haven't had anything like this in months! You've been depriving me woman!"



Healthier Dog Treats


Five months ago I had posted the recipe for my dog's cookies and treats and in our home's quest for a healthier year and lifestyle, the dog has been included in on this change. After a recent visit to her vet's office and finding out her hips and one back knee is developing some arthritis issues, the vet recommended to help her in the future with mobility was to start her one a healthier meal plan.

So I did change heed the warning and started my baby girl on a new dog food (still trying to come up with my own recipe) and decided to experiment with the recipe of her treats. Her vet had told me that pumpkin and any other kind of squash and carrots can really help dogs with weight control.

So I started my research.

According to petmd's website:

First, pumpkin helps promote digestive health in dogs. The high fiber content in pumpkin can help dogs that are suffering from constipation or diarrhea. That’s why some veterinarians will recommend adding a small spoonful of pumpkin to your dog’s diet if he or she is experiencing minor gastrointestinal problems. Adding a bit of pumpkin may also help your dog adjust when you switch to a new food.

Pumpkin is also packed with vitamins A and C. These vitamins help support both vision health and immune health in dogs. In addition, pumpkin is a low-calorie food for dogs and is sometimes recommended as part of a weight management program for pets.

333.jpg

So I whipped up some new treats and SHE LOVES THEM!
Here is the new recipe I used

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 cups regular flour
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup water (add teaspoons as needed to make dough workable)
  • 1/4 pureed pumpkin, squash or carrots
  • 2 tbls olive oil

Roll out dough into 1/4 thickness and cut into desired shapes. Bake 350-degrees for 20-25 minutes until crunchy.


3.jpg

Yeah, she gets dog bone shaped cookies and treats.



So that's what I've been up to in the Golden D Homestead Kitchen this week.

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com



Sort:  

LOL! Can I be your dog? Those sound yummy... or maybe I have been on keto a little too long?
Mostly I wanted to thank you for being so awesome to warpedweaver. Finding the homestead community here has put a grin on her face day after day, and that is a wonderful thing to watch. She is an amazing lady, and I love to see people who appreciate her in her life!

Oh that is WONDERFUL!!! I'm glad she has found her stride and place within the community! Always great to hear about other people's successes and accomplishments

Love the translation of 'hubby-speak'!

Never heard of kefir (or kombucha) 'til I came here. Not so sure I want to try them, but they're obviously versatile and can be customized to personal tastes. (Yes, I am a wimp. Lol!)

That recipe for the treats looks intriguing. I might have to give that a spin. I'm sure Tink would be an eager taste tester. Thanks for sharing!

WHen I first gave Lady the cookie, she was like what is this?... now, she hears me in the kitchen and I swear she knows when I'm making her cookies!

When we were at the vet, she is very shy around people, and wouldn't take the Milk Bone treat from the assistant. I told the lady, no offense, but I make her treats. lol

Yeah, the hubby translation- gotta love it!

She is lucky to have someone like you caring for her, otherwise she might get the same food everyday :P
Pumpkins and carrots looks healthy. Thank you for sharing :)

She is my world.. more or less. I think I talk to her more than my own husband most days!

Full disclosure, making my own cream cheese probably won’t happen. Easy as it may be. :)

But the dog treats are a possibility. We cook plain chicken and give them a little bit with their dry dog food at night. We started that when their treats were recalled several years ago. We give them fish oil to help with their joints. I wonder if I could just mix that into the treats...?

Not sure about the fish oil. I had heard Brewers Yeast was also good for dogs- but I can't remember at the moment what for though.

My dog LOVES her homemade cookies.
I'd like to find a recipe for homemade food, because when I read all the labels in the store (pet store and especially the grocery store) they are SO FULL of crap!

Ditto on the homemade dog food. I make my cat’s food, but when I tried to research a similar option for dogs I basically ran up against “a dog’s dietary requirements are much more complicated to meet than a cat’s”

Really? I never would have thought that. Maybe I'll stop in at the vet's office one day for a happy visit (that's what they call drop-ins so your pet can get familiar with the atmosphere) and I'll ask the vet about it.

but I am BIG milk drinker fanatic!
but I will try cheese also

It is very good! I have eaten it for breakfast two days in a row and can't wait to experiment with other flavors besides chives. Maybe berries next time.

I agree with this post, homemade and self harvest

Homemade is best. Too many unwanted additives and chemicals or unknowns in store bought items for me.

I've kind of been waiting on this cream cheese post. I guess it's one me over and I'm going to try to make kefir. ☺

It is SOOO good- tangy and so creamy! I think you're gonna like it!

oooh, dog treats in the dehydrator! like we need one more "reason" to use that amazing machine, right? yay, i just love your kitchen posts!

:)

lol- no, the dog treats were baked! My hubby's jerky was in the dehydrator!

LOL oh good grief. that's what i get for being up too late this week!

I am so doing these doggy treats! I can relate to the hubby speak! lol The venison jerky sounds absolutely great. I make my own cream cheese from greek yoghurt. Perhaps I need to try the kefir...

The dog treats are something my gal looks forward to whenever I make a fresh batch. Just like when the kids were little and I'd make chocolate chip cookies.

It's weird, I don't care for Greek yogurt, but I am lovin' the kefir.

Time for me to try the kefir...

Love jerky! We missed out on the venison this year :(

We did too. But fortunately a cousin of ours had gotten his fulfillment allowed by the state and he gave us some.

I sure have missed the taste of it. Been making chili, the jerky, breaded back strap with sauteed onions and fresh mushrooms... yeah... I have been thoroughly enjoying this gift.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85