Winter Purge and Rag Tag Rugs, Lost Art of the Homestead?????? Anyone out There Rag Rug Anymore.

Winter on the homestead can be long especially when you are housebound due to bitter cold weather conditions. This post will describe a few things that I do to get through my BUSY winter other than STEEMIT. Winter Projects that your Homestead needs done, and a great re-purpose of things that would normally get donated to goodwill.

Today I started going through my bedding closet and tea towel drawer and bathroom cupboards. I found all kinds of Gems. I went through my blanket boxes too, that I have at the ends of the beds. Winter is a great time to purge, and purge I did. This is a lovely Blanket Box made for me by @canadianwoodguy.

blanket box.jpg

I collected a bunch of old sweaters and hoodies from the kids closets, and mine, and old sheets, towel, and blankets. Now what will I do with all of these. Tomorrow and onward until it is done, I am going to attempt to make a Rag Tag Carpet for my 18 year old's birthday gift for her new apartment that she will be going into in May.

So I went and spoke with a lady in town who I know makes them all the time for gifts, and arranged a few meetings to make one. I am going to try and use Marine Colors such as blue's, Yellow's, Oranges and white. Then I will try and sew a few cushion covers, so they will match with the left over materials.

The method this older lady does it with very little sewing, it's kinda like weaving but using a crochet hook that is really big, or she said I could just braid it.

rag rug 2.jpg

This is the approach I will be using. So this is just a fun post, and to show all of you how I recycle as they did back in the olden days. Many Many homesteads had these beautiful mats beside beds, at kitchen sinks or under a rocking chair. I hope this will encourage you to give it a try as I am, and get into those cupboards and purge, BECAUSE, the spring is not time to do this, SPRING is a busy time for the garden.

Happy Rag Rug Trails my friends.

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com


APP.png

CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Image Source:
https://mypoppet.com.au/makes/upcycle-style-braided-t-shirt-rug/

Sort:  

Yes! I’ve got several of these in my house!—not braided, but the crocheted kind. A neighbor taught me how to cut up the clothes properly and hook the strips into rugs when I was 11 :) and all my family members save their old woven clothing for me for either rugs or quilts.

These are rely great, i dont have it in my house though but i love 'em

Hello @gardengirlcanada. I look forward to seeing the rug when ready...
I came across a bag of old socks (aka my daughters' odd socks collections...) that I couldn't just throw away - they were too small not torn or anything. So I made a long strip that will become a rug.
Here's a picture ... not everybody's choice of colours I know but it will do as a rug.

Hey now socks that is a great idea. I have 3 kids all under 20 and the washing machine monster has many a socks around my home single and looking. I love the colors. Perhaps I may visit that missing sock basket I have built up over the years, and see what I can add to her rug. Thanks

OMG! This is SUCH an AMAZING post! Thank you for sharing! I gave you a vote!!

Thank you, now following

Home made rag rug are so much better than the imitation version sold in stores. I'd rather have re-purposed fabrics. They feel better underfoot than the thin nylon ones from the stores. Lucky kid!!

I grew up in houses filled with these rugs. Our house, my grandparents house, all my aunts houses. I made many in my life time.

When my husband passed, I was going to make one out of all his old tee shirts. I couldn't do it then, but someday I will be ready and everything is sitting in the closet waiting till the time is right.

I ripped up a bunch of t-shirts recently. I tried making a crocheted market bag but because I tend to wing-it or freestyle my pattern isn't coming out right. I Will probably use that shirt yarn for something else. This would definitely be a good use for it! Thanks for sharing

Love it! Nothing like a good purge to make you feel good! I grew up on a farm and we always had to find a purpose for everything, or re-purpose something. My grandmother used to make these rugs; thanks for bringing that memory back to me:)

I have done a few in the past, hand stitched. I have never seen them sewn on a machine before. That is very cool...
This year is rug hooking for me :)

Just learn a new thing

omg my mom would love this

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28