Growing Perennial Vegetables for More Freedom

noeffortsalad.jpg

I just love perennial vegetables--wait perennial vegetables? Yup! While it is true most of our traditional vegetables here in the United States are annuals there are dozens of perennial vegetables that you can also grow.

This is Daron from @wildhomesteading writing another of my weekly posts which alternate between homesteading and running an online business. Watch for my posts weekly on Wednesday but now let's get back to perennial vegetables!

Perennial vegetables are vegetables that come back year after year without having to be replanted.

So are you growing any in your garden or on your homestead? If not you should really consider giving them a go.

Here are some of the reasons why.

Reasons Why to Try Perennial Vegetables

kosmickale.jpg

The first picture on this post is a salad from this spring. While a salad is normally nothing special this one was.

I had not planted any of the greens in the salad this year. All I did was walk around my homestead and harvest.

The salad was made up of perennial vegetables with a few biennials (plants that overwinter once before going to seed and dying) mixed in.

Some of these perennial vegetables are spreading so next year I will have even more.

Now I still have a garden filled with traditional annual vegetables but I love the freedom and resilience that perennial vegetables give me.

If I can't plant my garden one year then at least I can still get a harvest. Plus, this is a harvest that I don't have to water or really do anything after the first planting.

It always makes me feel a bit like I'm just going out and foraging!

This year I added kosmic kale (picture at the top of this section), French sorrel, and tree collards which are all perennial (plus a few native perennial vegetables). Each year I plan to add more perennial vegetables until I might not even need to plant regular greens!

But perennial vegetables are not just salad greens. There are root crops like sweet potatoes, and sunchokes. And of course there is asparagus which is the one most people know.

However, this is just scratching the surface. There are hundreds of perennial vegetables that can grow in most climate zones in the United States.

I have done a series of blog posts that you can check out to learn more.

Time to Grow Perennial Vegetables

turkishrocket.jpg
A bunch of Turkish rocket (another perennial vegetable) that I sauteed with some garlic and olive oil as a side dish for dinner.

Ultimately if you plant enough of perennial vegetables you could have a great yearly harvest that you don't have to plant, water, or really do anything other than harvest.

That sounds really awesome to me and is a great way to provide for you and your family without being stuck maintaining a traditional garden.

So I hope you will consider planting some perennial vegetables on your homestead or in your garden. Check out my blog posts for some ideas and start planning now so you can plant your perennial vegetables in the fall or next spring (depending on the variety).

Thank you and watch this space next week for my next weekly post with @homesteaderscoop.


Wild-Homesteading-New-outlines-50-x-250.png

Follow @wildhomesteading for more posts all about homesteading, working with nature, and growing your own food.

And check out my blog - www.wildhomesteading.com for weekly in-depth posts on working with nature to grow your own food and start/build your homestead.




Homesteaders Co-op


Our Free, Community Marketplace

Shop with pride: Our vendors are committed to sustainability for a healthier planet. As a Co-operative we are community run. And unlike other marketplaces our vendors are not charged fees or commissions. Vendors: Learn more

Support Our Alternative Economy


Logo design by FireFly Creations - illustrator & artist available for commission

Sort:  

Things that don't need endless replanting?? Oh yes. This has me name on it!


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

This is great. I am heading to your links to learn more because perennials are definitely the way to go and a foundation of permaculture. But, I wonder about the taste. These not-so-heard-of vegetables....bland and bitter or simply vegetables that are surprisingly not on every menu? Thanks for the information!

Thank you! :) As far as taste it really depends on the person and the specific vegetable. Some like miners lettuce are mild and really taste a lot like lettuce. Others can be spicey or even lemony. French sorrel has a nice lemony flavor that can be great in salads. Others like sweet potatoes are of course very common and great. Then there are the air potatoes that are supposed to taste just like a potato but grow on vines that climb trellises!

Really perennial vegetables are just like our traditional ones. Some you will like and some you won't. The hard part though is figuring out which ones you like since they are often not found in grocery stores.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks so much!!

Great post Daron! Perennial food is my favourite topic of all!! Sustainable, resilient, abundant, nourishing for the earth and our bodies - what's not to love??

Thank you! :) Yeah, I fully agree! Perennials are awesome!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 22 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 197 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Wonderful post! I have many perennial vegetables I munch on such as fava leaves, potatoes , asparagus, fern, garlic, etc. :) I think I have turkish rocket all over the place need to double check it's that and not a thistle.. mmmm ... thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63202.55
ETH 3085.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85