Daddy's GIrl

in #homestead7 years ago

YEP that's me ... I'm a daddy's girl. I'm sure my sister is also but I was the baby, not quite 8 years younger than my sister so when she moved out with her family I was the only child left at home - I mean SOMEONE had to do it, so why not me :)

Dad was a salt salesman once we moved to Ohio (I just turned 3 and WAS NOT asked if I wanted to move from Rochester, NY to Ohio - go figure) and he was out of town most of the week. So Dad left on Monday and came home usually on Thursday very seldom it was Friday.

familybarbaralane2.jpg

When I was in 5th grade my parents purchased a house on the other side of town - rumor has it part of the reason she was tired of having issues with the septic system, but I have NO idea, never asked. Saturday mornings he would work in his office (one of the rooms in the basement were his office - another room was mom's sewing room) but for the most part no-one bothered him on Saturday mornings !!!

If dad had to go to say, the local Farm Bureau, I would tag along with him; if he had to go to the local Giant store, yep there I was, his sidekick :) Hmmm sounds like an old western OH WAIT ... yeah ... The Lone Ranger and Tonto, his trusty side kick hahaha

I loved my dad more than life itself - not sure he ever knew that. He was probably the loudest singer in the synagogue whether it was a Friday "shabbos" gathering or one of the High Holy Days - you could hear dad above everyone else.

We (Daryl and I) went out to the Jewish cemetary here in town (well actually it's not in this town, but closer enough). I lost my dad all those years ago on this day. I'll never get the image out of my head of him standing in the kitchen trying to put on a sweater but he was sweating so terrible he couldn't get his arms in the sleeves. So there I was trying to help and as soon as he lifted his arms up so that I could help him with the sweater, his slacks fell down to his ankles "sigh". All we could do was chuckle - dad had lost so much weight that even with a belt his pants were too big :( That's my last memory - from there we took him to the hospital but I wasn't allowed to go back to where he was in the ER.

This is about all I'm going to write .. sitting here tearing up. SOOO if you are lucky enough to still have at least one of your parents make sure they know you love them and appreciate what they have done for you (even if it didn't quite work out the love was/is still there).

dad.jpg

He loved his grandkids :)
dadgrandkids2.jpg

gravemarker.jpg

Sort:  

Both my parents have passed on. I still miss them, and yes I cry on occasion even though it has been many years...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98