HOMESTEAD UPDATE- A NEW FLOCK ARRIVES...AND MY NEW ROOSTER SURVIVED

in #homestead3 years ago

THE RECENT LOSE

A couple years ago we got an Australian cattle dog that was living in a bad home. Her name was Ella, and she quickly became my best friend in the world.

KIMG4289.JPG


KIMG5542.JPG

  • She even taught herself to climb a ladder so she could join me as i worked on the cabin roof.

BUT THAT WAS THEN

And a week ago she killed my rooster. Then within a day, she attacked my entire flock killing all of my chickens except for two. This included my Little Girl. She was my favorite chicken, and also like a best friend.

KIMG4978.JPG
*My last photo of my Little Girl....and Big Green who was the rooster Ella got.



MOVING ON

As hard as it is for me, I had to get past the grieving part of this and obtain a new group of birds. We sell our eggs to help financially, so getting baby chicks wouldn't work as it would be months before they started laying.

So I set out to find someone who had some adult hens to sell...it took a couple days, but I heard a family member of mine might have a few extra they would sell.

After a couple phone calls, I loaded up a cage in the truck and started the trip to aquire my new flock.

KIMG7364.JPG


KIMG7355.JPG
*They are a beautiful group of birds! And I'm already falling in love with them.

One young lady in particular has grabbed into my heart, Baldy.

KIMG7357.JPG


KIMG7367.JPG

She is so friendly and loving. She already let's me hold and pet her. OOOOH.....AND THESE CHICKENS PURRRR LIKE CATS DO!!!! It's so crazy to hear them all doing it...SOOOO CUTE!!!

Normally when chickens get moved to a new home there is a good chance they will stop laying for a while, but....

KIMG7363.JPG

See...in the picture above, one of them laid an egg the first day here. I think it's because they love me and their new home. They were living inside a chicken coop before and now they will be free range homestead chickens...so I think they are going to live their new home!

ALSO!!!!.....

During the attack on the flock, I thought i had lost my newest rooster, Trooper, as he has become known. He did not get killed though, he ran off and had been surviving in the woods all alone. My son, Evan, spotted him yesterday and after several failed attempts to catch him during the daytime... I decided we should just wait for him to go to roost and try grabbing him...and it worked. He wasn't happy about it at first. But I loved on him and once I took him to meet the new girls, he was good.😁

KIMG7350.JPG

Thanks to everyone for coming along, and for all the support that is offered. It truly makes life that much more grand(and a little easier). We love you all and are forever thankful for everything!!! 🤗🤗🤗

*All pictures are my own, taken with my Kyocera phone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29