The Farm

in #homestead6 years ago (edited)

My son works on a farm as part of a learning employment program for youth. The program is amazing, and teaches them the total farm-to-table food system. A bunch of interconnected organizations work together to create this youth job. They have several large community gardens around our city, and one bigger farm depicted below. Right now they are doing a lot of work to prepare the garden beds, and get the farm ready for the season. In the summer, they harvest the food, and they sell it out of a truck at a senior citizens home at a great discount . This creates a beautiful connection between youth and seniors, and it teaches the kids how to run a business.

The farm stand

The teens plant, grow, tend to, and harvest the food, inventory it, set it up, sell it, and track what they sold. My son did this last year so this year they are talking about making him essentially a peer supervisor with more responsibilities. I am a proud mom! Another thing the kids do is collect produce from a bunch of local farmers and they go package it up for distribution at the Food Bank. So the kids go to the food bank to work, once per week in the summer. AND THATS NOT ALL! Last year the program began including the local community bike shop. The kids go there , too, and last year they built bikes and carts to use on the farm!!!! My son's bike broke this year so now he is actually riding one of these bikes to school and work!

When he was little, I worked on that farm too!

Talk about a full circle, totally connected program! This farm also lets University students get college credit for working on the farm. I went to college when he was little, so I used to bring him with me sometimes. My friend would give him rides on the tractor. I did it for two semesters because I loved it soooooo much. I never would have imagined that he would one day work there too as a part of his education. And he is getting paid! I think he loves farming more than I did. He never misses a day. In fact he injured his arms in a bike accident this week, and he didnt want to stop working, so he has been pushing wheelbarros and shoveling dirt though the pain. I brought him to the Dr this morning to make sure this was okay to do, and she told him to stop working till Monday to prevent further injury. So now he will take some days off. That's dedication!

Mama pride

I am so proud of my son! I am also proud of these organizations for working together to make it happen. Not only do the kids learn skills that will help them their whole lives, but they give back to their community while they are doing it. Last year the seniors used to bake my son bread, and he would take it home, along with leftover fresh produce, and we had such lovely meals all summer long. I cant rave enough about this program. Here are some pictures below! Enjoy!

One of the garden farm sites

IMG_20180416_173105801.jpg

The truck they sell produce from

IMG_20180416_173045442 (1).jpg

The farm, and you can see a root cellar there in the left of the photo

This farm has a lot going on. There are three greenhouses, an apple orchard, bee hives, pigs, chickens... and a nearby swimming hole, even! :) People from all over town buy CSAs from them, and they also sell their goods at the farmers market on weekends (my son doesn't do that part)

IMG_20180416_173218603_HDR.jpg

The farm has changed a lot over the years!

Now there is a basketball hoop over there, and a couple of little outbuildings. Back when I was a farmer there, I helped rip down a huge fence that used to be there. It was a lot of work, taking it all down and getting the posts out of the ground! I do admit I am proud to have been one of the many people who have helped this farm slowly develop and change over time :)

IMG_20180416_173204671.jpg

Thanks for reading! :)

DNG85HEx.gif

me2f.jpg

Sort:  

Good program , I hope it works wonders for him

What a wonderful program! It’s a shame there are not more of these around. So many youth of tomorrow seem to have no respect, plans, or hopes of a future. Things like this teach the lesson of a hard day’s worth of work and life skills. Something that schools systems failed to teach for a while now on their own.

Yes! We are very lucky because somehow the school system here helps with this too! I am not sure how but it is connected. He gets to leave school early to do this job and they are giving him school credit. I forgot to say that!

Such a great opportunity! My husband wishes he’d had more manual labor experience growing up. Something like this would’ve been perfect. We’re trying to figure out how our girls can have those experiences too. I grew up around construction job sites and my dad had a large garden, so I definitely think that physical labor helps kids learn to be productive. (And expend all that natural energy!)

It’s great that’s your son LOVES it too! (Pulling weeds was a punishment in our house LOL).

He wont do chores at home hahaha not without a lot of nagging! So its something about the peer program I think , that helps make it more fun and motivating. But at least he knows he CAN do that kind of work, and even enjoy it. I think that is still teaching him what I want him to learn. I wish that super motivation would translate to other things haha

Lol! Guess he’s a normal kid then ;) But like you said, at least he can do it which will be a huge help down the road.

Loading...

What an amazing opportunity I wish this opportunity was available in our area. Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85