You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homestead Update - Bee Sting, Rain & Colleens Birthday

in #homestead7 years ago

I have to try to start some pumpkins again this weekend. A squash beetle got my plants. Soooo, annoying and disappointing. I have yet to see any of my squash flowers turn to tiny squash, so am a little jealous of your pictures.

I am patiently waiting on my first big tomato to turn from being green. It is slowly getting there.

Thanks for the update.

Sort:  

We had that problem last year, very disappointing... We added a bird houses around the garden, planted more flowers to attract the beneficial insects. The bird really help keep the pest issue under control, I would guess we have a bout 25% of the issue we had previously. Good luck to you, never give up!

Well, I think we have plenty of birds. I don't think they are doing their job. Of course, they might be afraid that if they hang around on the ground too long, the hawks will get them.

I created a whole section for wild flowers to attract good insects, but that has been more weed looking and less flowers.

Yup, never give up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59241.40
ETH 2525.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47