I Have A New Tadpole!

Hello, my name is Joshua. I am The Homeschool Kid.

Today I am going to tell you about the new tadpole that I just found in our pond.

This is our pond.

DSCN1346.JPG

DSCN1350.JPG

This is my tadpole.

DSCN1343.JPG

DSCN1342.JPG

How I found the tadpole: I was down at the pond with my friends one day, and we were throwing rocks into it. Then a big rock splashed a tadpole up onto the bank. I picked it up and put it in a jar.

Hear are some fun facts that I learned about a tadpole's tail: Did you know that when a tadpole loses its tail it absorbs it? Before I thought that a tadpole's tail just fell off because frogs don't have them. A tadpole's tail is about an eighth of the tadpole's body weight. But it gets smaller and smaller until it is about a centimeter long in an adult frog. This is how a tadpole's tail changes as it grows.

I am hoping to keep the tadpole long enough to watch it change into a frog.

Stay tuned for more posts from The Homeschool Kid.
Please Follow and Upvote!

Sort:  

Very cool!
Once, a few years ago, my kids found a LOT of tadpoles in a mudpuddle. They wanted to save them, so they brought them inside and put them into my large fishtank!
Unfortunately, some of my fish must have been meat eaters, because one by one they all disappeared and none of them made it to adulthood...
Best of luck with your new tadpole!

I am interested to see what kind of frog this tadpole develops into. Or is it a toad?

I don't know if it is a toad or not.

Let me know when it gets older.

Ok.

Funny even the frogs are confused what time of the year it is... In the spring I bet you can find some eggs and watch them transition through the whole life cycle, I can't wait for an update.

I used to love collecting tadpoles. Hope it grows well for you !

Pretty cool find for December! I hope it makes it to its next stage!

very cool! I found a tadpole once but it was huge!!! probably a bullfrog tadpole
|/,,

Hello Joshua My Name is Evan And I Am 12 Going TO Be 13. I Was Living In Tennessee For A While And There Was A Pond in The Mountain Inside Were Literally 100"s Of Tadpoles and Salamanders! Pretty Cool Huh. But The Tadpoles I Had Were Giants Compared To That On. Weird. Now I Live in North Dakota No Tadpoles Here. Only Ice. Lol

My sons have a blog now and are homeschooled as well. They are @apanamakid. You should check them out. ;) Looking forward to more posts from you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85