Generator fitness,I feel like a yo-yo.

in #homelife5 years ago

7g0n0oismd.jpg

source

We bought a Sunny. Not a Honda or some other recognizable brand, but what was available.I just hope this Chinese masterpiece is up to the task. If I praise it,it may last a little longer. Just keeping everything crossed for now as it is in for some workload.

I didn't realise the work involved to get the generator on and off. It is worth it and I am not complaining. At least we grabbed one before they were sold out.

For those of you that don't know you have to turn the entire distribution board off and then have to go outside and cut the main feed to the house which is outside the property. I then have to get the generator started without flooding the engine. Have done that twice already and then turn the distribution board on leaving off certain switches.

The pool pump and geysers can wait and no microwave and kettle apparently. It is not to bad as we have a gas barbecue so coffee can still be made.The important ones still work like the lights ,internet and the fridge and freezers.

I realized why my family was in a rush now as it is a long weekend starting tomorrow and I had no idea. I could think of nothing worse than having no power for 5 days at home. We have two cuts a day now and can live with it if they stick to this schedule for now. Midnight to 6 am and then 4 pm to 8 pm every day.

As expected the times are not consistent and already we are not sure when the next one is.The only way we know when the outage is over by the crescendo of house alarms in the neighborhood going off and maybe resetting.

Sort:  

That looks a lot like the generator that my mom and dad have for their house. I think the house that my wife and I live in used to have a generator, but it was long gone by the time we moved in. Hopefully this gets you buy until you can find a different solution. Then maybe you can sell it to someone else!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Man that really sucks. Have you looked into entire house generators or are those just too expensive? I know of a couple people who have them that live in the country.

They decided to get on when they realized any small power outage and they'd be the last ones to get power back due to where they live so instead of going days without power every snow storm they at least had a back up option that they could (so far) rely it kicking on all by itself when they lost power.

Two cuts is all?? I go drinking twice a week. Mon-Thursday and Friday to Sunday !😂😂😂. Splendid debacle ! It’s as if you are living in the third world

Unfortunately two cuts a day means 4 swap overs per day. Not so funny, but some people living in the area went to bed and left some things on. A soldering iron and an electric barbecue. The house burnt down , but they were safe.It is the third world for a few years at least I think.

Of course the give you power during peak solar time.
I also have a camp stove a small solar thingy and a few decent batteries for electronics, but my power doesnt go out very often. Maybe flickers for a minute or two once a year.
I guess u guys need more base grid.

Posted using Partiko Android

Always good to have a generator on hand. We're looking into buying one as well. Interestingly, one of our larger stores also carriers a portable solar power generator. Seems to be enough to power up batteries, but not run the frig etc. So a gas or diesel generator is also required.

Best wishes @cryptoandcoffee.

Howdy sir cryptoandcoffee! What a hassle but thank God for generators. I hope that's a good one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61875.79
ETH 3013.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69