My Personal HODL Challenge For....Ever?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #hodl6 years ago (edited)

My Personal HODL Challenge For....Ever_ (1).png

Since the beginning of the year @richardtaylor and I have been taking part in our monthly HODL challenge...

The goal is to choose 5 different projects in the crypto space each and every month, track their performance over 4 weeks and then choose one of the coins to hold for the entire year.

It's been a fantastic experience and since January 1st 2018 we've learned a ton!

So far this year we are holding the following coins / tokens;

January - Stellar (XLM)
February - Basic Attention Token (BAT)
March - PowerLedger (POWR)

And while there were some great projects in each month's challenge, these were the 3 that stood out the most for us.

The month of April though...I'm going to be doing something a little different. And the reason I will be doing so is because I'm on a mission! To let the world know about my favorite crypto currency / blockchain technology on planet earth and that is...

STEEM

Surprise!

So here's what I will do each Wednesday this month. Instead of going over the prices of 5 different coins I will go over some news around the blockchain and the current price of Steem.

Steem  STEEM   1 86   10 41     CoinMarketCap.png

(We're at $1.86 currently as of this writing...Let's see where we are in a month from now :))

Am I doing this because I'm lazy?

Are there not any other coins or projects that are exciting to me?

Nah I just set a goal for myself this year....

I called it my 5-500-5000 game plan for 2018. In it, I wanted to reach 5 different members of the Steemit community through interaction and engagement. I also wanted to reach 500 followers (which I have done already and it's only April 4th...YAY!! THANK YOU for the follow, it means the world to me!!!!)

But...The big one!

I wanted to hit 5000 Steem Power by the end of the year. 😬

A lofty goal for sure but something I'm going to work extremely hard to do. And that includes posting every day of the week, engaging with others and INVESTING in Steem!

And as of April 4th I just hit little milestone in my mission...

Jon    jongolson  — Steemit.png

1000 Steem and Powered Up!

I have a long way to go but I'll be consistently investing and doing my best to create content that adds value to the blockchain. So April is all about Steem for me. Obviously, this is the coin / token I'm most bullish on and plan to hold this...Forever lol

So welcome to the April HODL....Challenge? Well it's not really a challenge...It's more like an adventure!


UpvoteFollowResteem.png

Sort:  

Hello, I see you've used our promotion service, @Promobot, Thank you for that.

I wanted to let you know that you've set your post reward as 100% Steem-Power and given that SBD are worth much more than 1 USD you will be earning less total reward. Next time you should set it to 50:50.

Appreciate that, yeah that was done in error on my part.

But hey, I get more Steem Power now :)

Wanna break down exactly how this is 46% ROI? Not sure I understand exactly how that works?

Steem Bot Tracker (1).png

Good plan, I need to get me some Steem too, still need to read up on it all so I can get a better understanding of Steem Power and Steem backed Dollars.

Check out all the stuff that @brandonfrye has been putting together and his new @minnowfund initiative. Great start points for newer Steemians to get a good understanding of it all. Helped me a ton getting started!

I still love hearing about your monthly exploits into crypto. It is entertaining and informative at the same time. Thanks for sharing your ups and downs of the challenge.
With regard to your goals for Steem, mine are the same except the SP. My goal is not as lofty as yours. I am looking to have 1k of SP before the end of the year and I have long way to go.

Thanks man. Yeah no idea if I'll hit that but i'm gonna try lol

You got a 40.21% upvote from @brandonfrye courtesy of @jongolson!

Want to promote your posts too? Send a minimum of .10 SBD or Steem to @brandonfrye with link in the memo for an upvote on your post. You can also delegate to the bot for daily passive earnings and help to fund the @minnowfund initiative. Learn more here

You got a 2.44% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @jongolson!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coins mentioned in post:

CoinPrice (USD)📈 24h📈 7d
BATBasic Attention Token0.196$8.82%1.55%
POWRPower Ledger0.298$3.76%5.04%
STEEMSteem1.860$8.25%20.58%
XLMStellar0.204$5.2%-3.43%

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34