Becoming Selfish

in Steem Skillshare2 years ago

Every generation of people in Western Society have their own "flavour." I am of the generation referred to as Baby Boomers. Baby Boomers are the people born following WWII until 1964.

image.png
Source

Despite having outlived most of their ancestors, and are reaching and surpassing the age of retirement, "Boomers" are still considered a necessary workforce.
image.png
Source

I am amazed that we still constitute one third of the workforce. Although to be fair, I know of people in their 70s who continue to work in construction. The average age of people in the Canadian Agriculture sector is 58-years-old. When you consider the median age is 41.6 years (the point were there are an equal number above and below this value), this indicates farmers tend to be much older.

This following video is a humorous portrayal of expectations of Millenials when getting a job.

This article indicates that it isn't too far off the truth.

image.png
Source

Now you can understand why I want to become selfish and find a place in the sun. The stories described in this next video are too commonplace. After a lifetime of contributing to a society and their families, the people at the tail end of the Baby Boomers are disappointed in how the end of their lives are shaping up.

Some of these men are foolishing looking after younger girlfriends but some of them enter their final adventure not looking for love but finding it anyway.

Sort:  

A nice seeing your awesome article sir, I guess I am in generation z. Thanks for sharing.

 2 years ago 

To help you to understand what is going on in the world today, you might want to look at this video:


Your generation is in the midst of a great crisis. My father fought in WWII and rebuilt the world afterward. You and your friends will be in the same position.

I guess I would have to go buy a machine gun and wait for the right time to use it.😊😊

It's nice to finally hear from you again.

 2 years ago 

I am always here. Any time you want to talk, I will listen.

Congratulations, your nice post has been upvoted by the steem.skillshare curation trail!
please check out this post:
steem.skillshare curation trail post to get infos about our trail

trail.jpg

 2 years ago 

Could someone update my current level of delegation? I am only showing at 800.

image.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72