Creative Writing Contest . PEACE WE NEED!

in Steem Cameroon3 years ago (edited)

PEACE WE NEED

It all started with one gunshot...
Then two, three I can't remember places became hot...
Before my eyes my father was shot...
It was not a pleasant sight but we were made to watch...
We ran, leaving food, cloths even pots.

His last words "take care"...
Peace had become so rare...
Cuz speak up ur mind, no one dares...
But the truth inform of us stares...
Oh! I need some fresh air...

Before me, my brother's corpse was flaunt...
But there was no way to grunt...
We are now the forest where they hunt...
No one dares to be blunt...
Or even stand in front...

I was raped, molested and beaten...
Received Ill treatment that cannot be spoken...
Picked up my own but there was nothing to be written...
But I do not seek to get even...
For vengeance comes from heaven...
Peace we need

The trees and bushes have become our homes...
We sleep on each others tears and groans...
My mother's voice has been reduced to silent tones...
No food, I might start eating my bones...
No communication device no phones...
Peace we need

My dreams of being in school has gone in vein...
I look at my younger ones and I wish they grow up in change...
The killing, the burning means nothing anymore it's not strange...
Oh my God! Is this wold going insane?...
Things should not be like this. They should not remain the same...
Peace we need

Some days I wonder if God watches...
The tears that fill our lashes...
Each day we see the perpetuation of evil grudges...
We die and turn to ashes...
And the dogs feed on our body patches...
Peace we need

In their hands our lives are kept...
Toasted left and right as tools...
Killed for obeying and not obeying the rules...
Confused in the middle as fools...
Hoping one day things become cool...
Peace we need

The worst part is the media...
They take up negativity and set it as a criteria...
Hate and anger eat up the youth aa a bacteria...
There's no safe place no more not even your area...
Peace seems to.be possible only I'm the cinema...
Peace we need

I carry a child, he's just a toddler...
Looking at him I smile cuz I know he will hear the story when he becomes older...
But before then, we will keep him safe he will not have to bother...
Mama is my comfort my shoulder...
I have her, she has me, we have each other...
Peace we need

Men running...
Children hurting...
Mother's crying...
Houses burning...
People dieing...
Please! Please! Stop the killing...
Peace we need

As seconds turn to hours and days...
We live in hope to be saved by grace...
Because this is not a movement but a race...
No one should be left behind everyone has space...
Together we look at the enemy face to face...
Peace we need

Each of is should meditate...
Is this really how we want to operate?...
I mean, the situation will only aggravate...
Unless we decide to stock together and corporate...
And stand up for peace no matter the hate...
Peace we need

I miss the days of quite and serenity...
I miss the days of peace and unity...
I miss the time of love and equality...
I wish we all respect lives and humanity...
As we strive to live in diversity...
Peace we need

By Nubia Nahbila.
Thank you for reading.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Nice writeup @crazywriter how i wish this poem of peace reaches to the right authorities

 3 years ago 

Nice one , we need peace

 3 years ago 

We need peace, great

 3 years ago 

Jeez, this has gotten right to my bones and changed my tones
This crisis has claimed more than it can ever offer and its time for us to let peace to reign.
Thanks for putting up this amazing peace @craxywriter.
@dobartim and @pennsif, here is a very creative piece that narrates all the ordeals we have been witnessing since the crisis hit our region.
@saxopedia and @njiatanga

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29