100daysofsteem:22/06/2020 #04- Organising to plant Sweet potatoes

in Steem Africa4 years ago (edited)

#100daysofsteem #04- Still embarking on my farming during the extended lock down.

Hello all with warm greetings. Today, this is my 04th entry into the #dairygame. Thanks at @steemcurator01 for the support always. Blessings.

Today being a Monday has been a great yet tiresome day. Since the presidents speech yesterday with extended lock down, it seemed good to continue with my farming project.

The work is still much however, I believe that by the end of the week, shall be through.

Today, we started on the project of planting sweet potatoes by a method called farming Gods way.

With my team, we had to look for fertile soil. We had to get it from some far place by use of a wheel burrow.

IMG_20200523_151648.jpg

Then, we had to make rows in the portion we had to plant in. It involves digging deep like 30cm deep into the soil. Then 75cm by 3ft. This involves using a hoe. This is the tool we use here.

IMG_20200523_141350.jpg

Then we looked for mulch from the neighbouring gardens. This was kinder more hectic to carry this mulch on our heads.

IMG_20200523_151536.jpg

My Challenges.

Usually due to the topography of my area, use of tractors is difficult, and also due to land fragmentation, the land is too small for high production. However, I am trying to use the little and available space to do my farming.

This kind of farming Gods way is a bit hectic because it involves a lot of materials like mulch, manures and over digging of rows for planting.

IMG_20200523_151923.jpg

Its the cheapest and most available tool we use and van afford. My friend, I believe that in the future, I shall overcome this.

So today, we made the rows and collected the mulch. Tomorrow, I shall give you an update of what next.

What to do next!

Planting
Collecting potatoe vines
pouring manure into the made rows
covering the vines
Mulching.

My target.

I want this to become a demonstration farm to all the surrounding farms and farmers. This place would be a better place to introduce many to this platform.

Thank you so much.

Until next time....

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Curated by @blessed-girl

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Enhorabuena, su "post" ha sido "up-voted" por @dsc-r2cornell, que es la "cuenta curating" de la Comunidad de la Discordia de @R2cornell.

Make sure you use the correct tag #thediarygame.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14