You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Subjectiveness of Genres

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 months ago (edited)

Interesting thoughts and I’ve faced a similar challenge when trying to categorise my music (especially my vinyl).

If your classification of a sci fi v. Fantasy film is based upon “real world” v. “Fantasy” locale, wouldn’t that put the original superman within sci fi?

For some reason, Harry Potter instantly screams “fantasy” to me. But this comment is ignoring your main point - which I agree with. Films can’t be pigeon holed any more easily than a person can. Unless Dolph Lundgren is involved.

Sort:  

@the-gorilla my theory is far from perfect, but that is exactly my point. Films are open to many genre classifications, depending on who's watching. Some movies are hard to classify, and would therefore fit multiple genres. Superman (or any superhero movie) is a great example. I'd call it SciFi / Fantasy, but the dominant genre is Fantasy, imo.
P.S.
Dolph Lundgren rules.

 3 months ago 

I agree.

Dolph Lundgren rules.

Especially with this bit 😆

 3 months ago 

image.png

 3 months ago 

If he dies, he dies.

 3 months ago 

image.png

Awesome...
Rocky IV was my favorite movie for the longest time. Must have seen it more than 50 times. I wrote something about it recently, will post soon.
Thanks, @the-gorilla!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66181.33
ETH 2700.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88