Painting : The Octopus Guardian of the oceans.

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone!

This time again, I participate to a character design challenge. The last time, I participate with my dinosaurs : https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@pipoune/come-back-to-steemit-digital-painting-of-funny-dinosaurs

This month, the theme was "Elemental Guardian". I directly thought about creating a character related to water, because it was the element that inspire me the most.

6.jpg

I didn't want to create a human character, or an imaginary creature ; I found the idea of representing a sea animal.
First, I thought of a seahorse, but after the octopus appears in my mind, and I preferred him.

It was a very good representative to the water guardian : the octopus has a lot of legends, he is big, smart, and I can integrate nice things with its tentacles.

Let's check the process !

1.jpg

First, I paid attention to keeping volumes good, and draw the good number of tentacles. (The octopus has 8 tentacles, not to be confused with the calmar, which has 10! :D )

2.jpg

Then I start to color my octopus, and add a background.

4.jpg

I wanted to play with complementary colors ; orange and cyan go together really well.

5.jpg

Then, I place some elements in the ocean : whale, boat, ray,.. and also corals in his tentacle.

6.jpg

And after some corrections and a shell, the result is here! 😊

Don't hesitate to tell me what do you think about it!

Hope you will like it.

See you soon!!

Sort:  

That is beautiful illustration,I remember trying to do octopus too, but then realize how difficult it was especially suckers of tentacle.

 3 years ago 

Thanks. Yes, actually it's not that easy, it took me some time to do the sketch properly!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88