Charcoal portrait of Gonzalo · Retrato a carboncillo de Gonzalo

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago (edited)

retrato_carboncillo_gonzalo_javiersebastian_6083.jpg
View in full size here


THIS IS MY ENTRY FOR:
The World of XPILAR - B&W PHOTOGRAPHY AND ART CONTEST WEEK #068
AND
The World of XPILAR - PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY AND ART CONTEST WEEK #042
By @axeman


bandera_ingles.png

I remember visiting his house and seeing the hallways filled with CDs stacked from floor to ceiling. Shelves full of vinyl filled several rooms. Then came the flash drives and hard drives, and all the music, which filled his life and his corridors, took up much less space. Gonzalo undoubtedly loved music and also movies, he always tried to meet me to see a premiere.

On one occasion, some he lent me some five hundred CDs that made a year of musical discoveries pass that marked a time in life. Thanks to him I got to know the first Radiohead records that I keep listening to so much, the intricate compositions of Björk, or the alternative music of Garbage, Morcheeba or The Cardigans, among many others. I don't know if it was because of that or because of the movie afternoons that I spent with him, but I don't remember crying both at a funeral and at his.

He had known me since I was a child, maybe that's why he lent me the right music, but I didn't get to know him until I was in my twenties. His story was long and I was completely unaware of it until he told it to me little by little. From those movie afternoons a lasting friendship was born and it was inevitable that he made her a portrait to give her a gift. He even hang it at his house and sent me the photo. We all believed that he had coped well with his liver transplant, but in the blink of an eye, he died in the arms of his mother leaving us all with a great emptiness. I did not have the opportunity to say goodbye.

A kiss to heaven.

bandera_espanol.png

Recuerdo visitar su casa y ver los pasillos llenos de CDs amontonados desde el suelo hasta el techo. Estanterías repletas de vinilos llenaban varias habitaciones. Luego llegaron los pendrives y los discos duros, y toda la música, que llenaba su vida y sus pasillos, pasó a ocupar mucho menos espacio. Sin duda Gonzalo amaba la música y también el cine, siempre intentaba quedar conmigo para ver algún estreno.

En una ocasión me prestó unos quinientos CDs que hicieron que pasara un año de descrubrimientos musicales que marcaron una época en vida. Gracias a él conocí los primeros discos de Radiohead que tanto sigo escuchando, las intrincadas composiciones de Björk, o la música alternativa de Garbage, Morcheebao o The Cardigans, entre muchos otros. No sé si fue por eso o por las tardes de cine que pasé con él, pero no recuerdo haber llorado tanto en un funeral como en el suyo.

Me conocía desde niño, quizás por eso me prestó la música adecuada, pero yo no llegué a conocerlo a él hasta que cumplí la veintena. Su historia era larga y yo la desconocía por completo hasta que me la fue contando poco a poco. De esas tardes de cine nació una amistad duradera y era inebitable que le hiciera un retrato para hacerle un regalo. Llegó a colgarlo en su casa y a enviarme la foto. Todos creíamos que había sobrellevado bien su transplante de hígado, pero en un cerrar de ojos, murió en brazos de su madre dejándonos a todos con un gran vacío. No tuve la oportunidad de despedirme.

Un beso al cielo.

gonza.jpg

45109433_10205037344930275_2324098157819985920_n.jpg

45100786_10205037345290284_68662022958481408_o.jpg


retrato_carboncillo_gonzalo_javiersebastian_en_pared.jpg


You can buy my works in hi-resolution digital format on Creary.net



Copyright: Javier Sebastian, Canary Islands. All my images are original.
If you want to buy any of my visuals, please drop me a message, I'm on Discord: JavierSebastian#5816


Coinbase | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Youtube | Invite me a Coffee | Patreon


I use this wonderful service to trading crypto coins.
I use these services to earn token while surfing the web. These are my referral links. presearch Download brave Browser, proud to support a faster and safer web
I use this service to PURCHASE and WITHDRAW to my BANK ACCOUNT. This is my referral link.

Sort:  

Hi @javiersebastian such beautiful post and your memories, let me feel how dear the person was to you. I am glad that you were able to learn him better and became great friends. Thank youf or such beautiful portrait!

Thank you so much for your comment and support. I guess I was pretty perfunctory in telling the story so as not to get too sad. Nor did I give too many details about his life. I have added some real photos of him to complete the post. I'm glad you liked it. Thanks!

 3 years ago 

Maravilloso homenaje el que le haces. Sin más.

Sí, pero creo que fui bastante superficial en el post y no me adentré mucho en contar su historia para no ponerme mal. Fue un palo muy grande para mí perderlo así de repente. Había venido a mi isla y habíamos quedado en vernos esa semana.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78