World War 2 Historical Reenactment Sepia Photos: Bodmin Railway, Cornwall, U.KsteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago (edited)

Historical Re-enactment Photos,
Bodmin, Cornwall, U.K


Hi my fellow Steemians. How are things? 😜

When I lived in Cornwall and England, I enjoyed attending and visiting historical re-enactments and other similar events. I love history and archaeology and aspects/things related to castles, the Medieval period, warriors and weapons etc.

I have visited many castles, abbeys, monasteries and other similar historical locations and places - and sites, ruins etc that are steeped, or rich in in history. I love the feeling and atmosphere of steeping back in time.

This post is about one of those events and the photos that I took there.


Bodmin and Wenford Steaming Through The 40's re-enactment event

The event I would like to discuss is The Bodmin and Wenford: Steaming Through the 40's re-enactment event. It was located at the steam railway station, so it was an interesting and suitable backdrop for this era. The event took place over a 3 day period annually at the start of May.

There were many historical re-enactors in period clothing from this time (such as World War 2 army uniforms, including weapons and sidearms) and historical, authentic/genuine items, props and vehicles, such as motorbikes and jeeps. All my images, I turned into sepia to give them an aged, authentic look, as though they were taken during this period of time!


Soldiers on the platform, Bodmin and Wenford Railway, Cornwall


As you can see, the soldiers' uniforms and equipment look very authentic!


A lone soldier on the platform in the rain

I captured some great re-enactors or characters at this event and I hope they don't mind if I post my photos here. You may have seen some of the images before on Steemit in previous contest submissions. I like how I have captured their expression and character - which one of the re-enactors or people below is your favourite and why? 😃


This was the crooner or singer. He sang songs from the era. He was a funny and entertaining guy!


This image I call 'Veteran'. As you can see, he's an older, more experienced soldier.


This soldier looks as though he's leaving his loved ones behind before he embarks on the train


This soldier had to cover himself up to stay dry as the rain came in


A soldier waiting on the platform as the mist comes in

Partly through the afternoon, at about 3pm, there was a re-enactment battle every day. The participants used fake ammo and used smoke grenades and timed explosions to create the atmosphere and impression of a real battle. The idea was that one group of soldiers invaded and try to take over the station, while the other unit of soldiers were stationed to defend their position from these 'enemies'. Entertaining! 😊


One of the soldiers ducking for cover


The same soldiers firing his gun


Another soldier/re-enactor taking cover behind some milk churns

One of my favourite images, a veteran firing his rifle while being lit up by an explosion

This was a great moment, the soldiers using a mounted machine gun on a motorbike and side car

Some attacking /invading troops arriving

Some more troops arriving, some running from an explosion or smoke grenade

Some of the attacking soldiers crouching behind a bench


A young soldier/re-enactor hiding behind a building armed with a pistol

In the final image, I captured a group of soldiers dancing in a line on the platform.

I hope you liked this post and found the pictures entertaining and interesting and you liked the way I aged them to make them appear as though they were taken at the time - from the 1940's?

Thanks to the members and moderators on the @worldofxpilar community and everyone else reading this post on the @xpilar page.

I plan to upload another post on @steemit soon and I intend to describe an aspect or part of Brazilian life or a place or location in the country. See you soon - tchau! 😉 👍


Soldiers dancing in a line as a steam train departs the station in the background

Visit my blog and view the rest of my photos through the link below:
📷


https://steemit.com/@daverobe

Thanks For Reading.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 


Great post!!!
Cool pictures and awesome text

me.jpg



 3 years ago 

Thanks. Glad you liked it :)

 3 years ago 

IMG_0670.jpg

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

join the World of Xpilar Curation Trail, info can be found here

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

join the World of Xpilar Curation Trail, info can be found here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85