Thoughts about the newest Humble Drop and Historical Listing (up to August 2022)

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

Screenshot 2022-08-03 09.33.06.png

The Ascent
Hot Wheels Unleashed
A Plague Tale: Innocence
Gas Station Simulator
In Sound Mind
Mind Scanners
Emily is Away <3
Omno

Woohooo! Another month, and I have another set of games from the Humble Bundle subscription... and I'm finding that I'm getting a whole lot more use out of the games that work well on the Steam Deck! Now... I have three different platforms to play the games on... the Deck, an XMG gaming laptop, and then my desktop gaming rig at home. So, different games for different occasions... or at least, the ability to sync them through with each other and play some on the go or at home! But mostly, it is different types of games for different situations.

Headlining this August 2022 bundle, we have the isometric aRPG of The Ascent.... it looks good, but it also looks like it is more of a co-op style game. Sure you can probably play it as a single player game, but in my experience, that tends not to be so much fun when it is set up primarily for more players. Anyway, I think I will give this one a hard pass... and send it to my game store (which I STILL... have to update!).

Hot Wheels Unleashed is a mixed bag... it looks good, and there is a great deal of nostalgia in here. It supports 2 player split screen, so it might be a fun game to play with my kids... but there seem to be so many DLCs and RNG loot crates according to the comments... This is everything that I detest about the gaming scene at the moment (it doesn't help that crypto games are pushing down that route either...).... I think I'm dumping this one. Well, that is my first reaction... perhaps I will change my mind... but Mario Kart is so much more fun as a family game.

OMG! Plague Tale: Innocence! THIS should be the headline game... I've been wanting this for so long, and I've held out buying it on sales... in the hope that it would come to a Humble Bundle! AND IT HAS! This is worth the entire month's subscription for me! Keeping and installing as soon as it unlocks!

Gas Station Simulator is one of these games that I really want to like... but I know that I'll be disappointed. I've had a go at similar games, and the depth that I want just isn't there... and you end up just LMB-ing to do everything. I'm afraid that this will be exactly the same... which is a pity, because running a PETROL station in the middle of nowhere would be a really cool game!

In Sound Mind appears to be a horror puzzle game... and I would really love to be able to play this... but I'm such a chicken, and I know that if I played this, I would be terrified for weeks! So, probably best to skip it... but it LOOKS SO GOOD!

Mind Scanners seems to be one of the many games in the "Papers Please" vein of games, simple graphics, interesting but barebones mechanics... and a cool retro art style. It actually looks really good! I'm keeping this and it will likely go on the Deck or the laptop.

Emily is Away seems to be a very interesting storytelling game set in a social media app... I love games that push the concept of gaming out from the usual cookie cutter formulas. I'm definitely going to keep this as it looks like a really compelling experiment that I want to experience!

uhhhh... OMNO, I have no idea what it is about, but it is a puzzler? And oh man, if your heart doesn't melt just looking at the videos and stills... well, you must be a robot! This looks so beautiful! I want to play this one with my girls, this looks like a lovingly crafted game and world from a solo indie developer. We all should support this sort of work!


I can also be found cross-posting at:
Hive
Steem
Publish0x


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94