Great American Western Road Trip: Day 2: Angels Landing - Zion

in TravelFeed2 years ago

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience


Hello Hiveians and welcome back!

We're picking up from the last post and heading to the famous Angels Landing in Zion National Park!

I've been to Zion once before a few years ago, at a similar time of year. Despite what most think, it does snow and freeze over in this park during the winter to varying degrees. And when I went there before I knew it would be a bit icy, but I tried Angels Landing anyways. Long story short, I didn't make it to the top. I underestimated the difficulty and conditions, had poor footwear, and an overpacked 30lb back pack making me unbalanced. I made it to about 30 feet from the top, but the final stretch was very icy and I decided it was too dangerous and turned back. But this time I had come to finish what I started.

It's 30 minutes before sunrise, and its cold. We wake up, and prepare for the days challenge, Angels Landing. We end up taking a bit longer to get ready than I had hoped for, but we were on our way to the park. And even though I had been here once before, it's still the same level of awe inspiring seeing the sun creep up on these amazing formations!

We drive through a bit of the park, and then head down towards the trailhead for Angels Landing. Angels Landing is one of the most dangerous and incredible hikes in America. It's gotten its name because it was believed that only Angels could reach it's summit. At almost any time after the switch backs, you're usually only feet away from a 1500ft straight drop! It's definitely one of the most intimidating hikes I've ever attempted. So, we began our hike in and then up!

First, you hike in towards the cliffs, and then hike up a paved path carved along the cliff towards a small canyon towards the switch backs, Walters Wiggles.

Looking back at the canyon before starting the switch backs, you can see this view!

After some pretty intense switch backs, also very icy at this time, we reached the top. Now, when I first hiked this years ago, I thought the hike was over, that was it, I made it! Only to realize, I was not even half way yet. But I could already see the deadly and intimidating straight drops.

After taking a small break, we headed off to make our trek to the summit and our first chains.

A little further up, you could really get a feel for the height and scale of where you were standing, as well as see the summit I'll be heading to.

And if you thought I was exaggerating about being only a few feet from a 1500ft drop, well, have a look at this.

We stopped and took another short break and made some friends along the way from the West Coast.

A bit longer, and now we were near the point where I turned back on my first visit. But still an amazing view even from here, looking back and seeing how far and high you've come!

And although it was also very icy in this area, and micro spikes were recommended, which I didn't have, I was ready. Good footwear, not an overpacked backpack, and next thing you know, I was on top of the world!

And had to take a couple photos of our new friends up there too!

And on top, I made another new friend!

Then I took a little time to wonder around and take in all the amazing views and appreciate this amazing place that I made it to!

After hanging out up there for about an hour, and taking way too many photos, it was time to descend, because we had to make sunset at another special place! And getting down isn't that easy either, so we began our descent.

But still admiring the epicness of this place on our way down!

Well, I didn't make it the first time, but I came back and ascended to the heights of the angels! And it was amazing! Zion is such an incredible place, and if you didn't get that yet, you'll be seeing over the next few posts, just what this place has to offer!

Have you ever been to Zion? Did you know this place existed? Would you hike this? What was your favorite images from this post?

Hope you enjoyed and I'll catch you in the next installment!

-Sean


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Congratulations @seangold! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍 Your post was also chosen as top pick of the day and is now featured on the TravelFeed.io front page.

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@smeralda (TravelFeed team)

PS: TravelFeed is in social media to reach more people, follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77