Life in the Spanish Countryside ...

in TravelFeed3 years ago

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience


I spent the better part of last weekend in the Spanish countryside. If you missed my last video, then you can watch it here for a better experience. On this post, I'd like to share some photos of how that went.

Sometimes I just enjoy to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city and be in nature. Never underestimate how crucial that can be. It always re-energizes me in ways I cannot comprehend sometimes. I am not a sporty person, so hiking is not always my go to activity, but once in a while I like to catch a break. It's also a great way to meditate and clear our minds.

This place is only 15 minutes away from the house. It's a public property in a place called Monte Dehesa de Valdelatas. 

While here, we spotted a herdsman with his sheep, I have to say I haven't seen any livestock since coming to Spain, so it was such a pleasant surprise. It gave me that Spanish countryside vibe and I loved it. 

What was more interesting however, was him explaining to us how he get his over 100 sheep back to the shed from such an open foresty space.

Since the heavy Madrid snow, there's a lot of broken down trees. From homes, to parks to a public nature reserve as this one. You can tell there's been some clean up going on. There were tones of broken down trees, branches hanging so high(which I thought was rather dangerous as they could fall down anytime, perhaps hurt people), and heaps of wood just cut and gathered all over. It's a great time to gather firewood for those who like bonfires I would say.

Did you know you can tell how old a tree is by counting the circles on a piece like this one? I did, but apparently that's a thing! Learnt it from my friend.

More broken down trees...More broken down trees... Firewood for the takers..Firewood for the takers..

And of course it's not a full countryside experience if you don't play in the mud is it? Well, at least not for the kids!

To say the least, it was a much needed experience. Hope you take a minute to appreciate the small things in life that make us who we are, human.

“You can make heaven out of hell, or hell out of heaven. The choice is yours.”

CRYPTO NOMAD.


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Congratulations @elsiekjay! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍 Your post was also chosen as top pick of the day and is now featured on the TravelFeed.io front page.

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@smeralda (TravelFeed team)

PS: You can now search for your travels on-the-go with our Android App. Download it on Google Play

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29