Validate university degrees with a blockchain

in Project HOPE4 years ago

Recently I read an article related to this topic, the use of a Blockchain for validation of degrees, that is, anyone anywhere in the world can verify if your university degree was issued by a certain university simply by entering a platform in which without any problem will allow you to see if you are in that "distributed record of information ".

Isn't that great?



Edited image SourceSource

For those who do not understand or cannot see the magnitude of the importance of this, I explain the following:

A blockchain is a distributed network of information, that is, the record is not only stored in a central computer but in several, this so?, the fact that it is recorded and validated in different places makes its modification (or falsification) practically impossible. Unless all the components that are participating do so, which is quite unlikely.

It is probable that for many this will have no impact, but it makes it difficult or better said, impossible to forge documents such as titles, transcripts, among others.

And something very important, facilitates the process of validating your data if you consider leaving your country to any other part of the world. In this last I want to emphasize, why?

The situation in Venezuela, which is my country of origin, is known worldwide. Well, I dedicated a good part of my life to study, I am passionate about studies, luckily my country allows anyone to study and with really low costs if I compare it with what you have to pay in Colombia, for example, where I currently reside. To give you an idea:

I managed to complete three years of nursing studies in a private institute in Venezuela, I paid for my studies while I worked, with a minimum wage I was able to do so, in addition to maintaining my basic expenses (clothing, food, transportation, etc.) only with a salary.

I also studied medicine at a public university, the expenses were somewhat high if I consider what I invested in books and the necessary instruments, as well as transportation, food, and uniforms. But it was also possible to cover it with a minimum wage.

In Colombia, a minimum wage is about 300USD, and just one semester in any medical school is 7000USD... What do you think? Imagine that only people with a lot of money study that career.

But, this is not exactly what I want to talk about, I've deviated a little bit, I'm going back to the original topic "Validating college degrees with a blockchain ".
Many people will think that @josevas217 will be a millionaire now working as a doctor in Colombia, because if it is expensive to study that career in that country they must pay very well, in fact yes, they pay quite well if we compare it with the minimum wage, however... that is why I highlight the blockchain in the issue of validation of degrees.

For my title to be valid here and to be able to exercise any of my careers (which I haven't been able to do yet), the process is as follows:

  • Get the signature of the rector of the university where I studied for my degree. Since they deliver it if her signature. This process can take years even, unless you pay a good amount of money, sadly it does.

  • Once you skip this process you must go through a process of legalization of documents before the ministry of education. It is done by appointment, considering that we are tens of thousands of professionals who are in this process, it can also take months or years to get this channeled, unless you go with a good amount of money directly to the ministry and pay for it, stressing that in theory it is a free process.

  • Later you must Apostille those documents, which is a process that is made to have international validity, and if, also it is by appointment, you can delay months or years unless...$$$$

Unfortunately they have complicated the whole process so that you must speed up with Mr. Green (Dollars).

After you have the papers in hand, ready to be valid abroad (in my case Colombia), you must homologate it in that country. Another process, also expensive and late, after registering in the Medical College, takes a month, and a few DOLLARS...

Well, I don't want to seem dramatic with this story, but it's reality, it's what I'm currently living through and that's why I tell you from my own experience that it's like that, no inventions.

That's why when I saw this article I was happy and said:

This would be the solution to all that corruption and bureaucracy that dominates public institutions in much of the world.



Source

It would take away the possibility of some people complicating the processes and then offering to speed up them but if you pay a good amount of money. The Blockchain breaks with the intermediaries, leaving everything exposed so that many (any person) can see it, verify it, and validate it.

This, like it or not to the governments, is a reality, and more and more it is present in the daily life of many, I would like that this modality was applied in the university where I studied, because the process would be much faster, as much for me as for thousands of professionals that we are waiting validations of documents by a corrupt system that does not collaborate.

What do you think about it?

Do you think that the Blockchain will finally be able to be executed in all public and/or private administrations?

I invite to be a part of

I invite you to follow the tribe


Sort:  

Hi dear @josevas217

I think it is a very good idea a great help for degrees and university degrees worldwide. I hope that tribes or communities that are dedicated to do this within the blockchain come out because it is quite interesting.
Thank you very much for your publication, excellent as always.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello @reinaldoverdu
It's always nice to have you over.
Actually it would be very good if larger-scale private entities were interested in this area, it would be very good indeed...
Happy week.

Validating documents from abroad is a nightmare here in the European Union, too. I see that in my family. You can spend a minimum wage in post fees, apostilles, copies and official-sealed translations, sometimes attorneys' fees, only for the extension of a simple residence permit... We need much, much less bureaucracy! Some state offices are using technology of the 80s.

Tearing down bureaucracy to be something quite complicated. There are interests involved that prefer to keep it that way.

80s teams... it's not justified. I'm surprised @deathcross I thought it was just something from Latin America...

 4 years ago 

Dear @josevas217

That would be such an interesting way to use blockchain. Seriously I like it already. However I'm not sure if current (centralized) solutions aren't simply ... easier to implement.

At least at current stage (lack of cheap programmers, lack of software, lack of awareness and general employees resistance towards anything that is new).

It is probable that for many this will have no impact, but it makes it difficult or better said, impossible to forge documents such as titles, transcripts, among others.

And there you go. You found first excellent reason why many will be against your idea. Current system is corrupted all over the world. And you're suggesting solution, which would remove all that corruption from the rich table.

It's a long way to go. I would rather expect private businesses to implement blockchain technology in their solutions, than public sector.

I want to tell you, that I do feel your pain. Not being able to do your job must be awful :/

Cheers, Piotr

You are so right @crypto.piotr
I think it is not convenient for the powerful, the individuals who are behind the great powers that something like the blockchain ends up becoming what it is, a great technological advance...

And the truth is that every day I meet many Venezuelans who, like me, have invested years in studies (engineers, chefs, nurses, doctors, among many others), and are doing anything to survive here.

I'm still in the fight, and with a lot of hope and patience.

Congratulations @josevas217! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 18000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 19000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Resteemed and upvoted @josevas217 :)

Thank you @project.hope for the support.

Some time ago I seem to have heard of a project with blockchain technology dedicated to that task. To create a blockchain to store a person's degrees and titles. But I guess they never had the resources to make it happen.

Although it would have to be a blockchain recognized by many entities, organizations, and governments worldwide.

I guess, maybe, in the year 3000, it could be reality what you envision in this post. I'm not being pessimistic. It's just that blockchain technology is a long way from being accepted everywhere.

Thanks for sharing :D

In the year 3000...
well in another life I will hear these approval problems more easily ha ha ha

Thanks for commenting @jadams2k18, but you're right, it's something complex, many interests in keeping things as they are.

Yes, the nature of human beings, governments and their need to bureaucratize things is complex

Stay blessed :)

This would be great and I think blockchain technology could help a lot to the world. This is a very nice post cause you are explaining such an important project and let us know more about your life. So good! Thanks for sharing :)

To be sincere, using the blockchain to validate university certificates will be a brilliant option. Most universities require a transcript when studying further and the essence of a transcript is to validate that the student certificate was given by tbe institute. With the use of a distributed ledger, there will be no need for a transcript showing you are from institution A with a particular grade and going to further education at institution B. All the university needs to do is juat comfirm with the blockchain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36