Waterway Of The Titans : Collage Contest 3 - Win 150 Steem and 1500 CCC in Prizes

in Collage4 years ago

Blue and Yellow Illustrative School and Education Poster 12.png

@georgeboya
Collage Contest 3. Win 150 Steem and 1500 CCC in Prizes!

NOTE: This contest will start at the 16th of February and finish at the 8th of March, 12pm UTC.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

PORTRAIT: Waterway of the Titans

text16.png

Where the giants come to quench their thirst. This was my first time entering the Collage contest and attempt to create a composition of images in stages to produce a final photo that was, at least, pleasing to me.

The topic of my Collage is Extinct Animals. One of them is Dinosaurs. The word "dinosaur" was taken from two Greek words by the inventor: "deinos" meaning terrible, and "sauros", meaning of lizard type. Of course, they are not lizards, but the imagery and name seemed mysterious and proper to describe them. I'm not here to give a history lesson, but only to bring all those extinct animals together in one photo.

My thought process in completing my Collage was to create a theme that brought together unlikely pre-historic, now extinct animals who might have been natural enemies to a place where all must go: to quench their thirst.

I utilized the free program Canva.com to upload all my photos. That way I could manipulate them, making the pictures of the animals larger or smaller, and move them around the original background for better placement.

1. Original Photo:

My original picture is courtesy of Unsplash, the free site for photos and images. I felt the background and scenic nature of the photo with the waterway fit well with my topic and theme. The moment I saw the photo, I stopped looking for any other background. So I uploaded my original photo first into Canva. Then I chose a size template and adjusted the original photo until I obtained the placement I desired.
photo1566883722964ac2aa70db83a.jpeg

2. Altered Background Photo

Next, I altered my original photo because I wanted to utilize only part of the background scene at the base of the curve in the waterway on the right side. After adjusting my background photo, I noticed an element I forgot to remove from the Canva template. I'll cover it up later.

Blue and Yellow Illustrative School and Education Poster 1.png

3. Altered Photo to include the various pre-historic animals:

One of the other sites I utilize to retrieve free images is PurePNG. This site is a nice one because the images are high quality, transparent photos. I found some amazing pictures of the extinct animals I needed for my Collage.

The first animal I added below was a large one that I wanted to be massive to loom over the others gathering at the waterway. I placed his picture in front of the mountain. He is looking back toward something I imagine, as though startled. I tried placing him in several different areas on the scenery, but decided on the position in the center.

Blue and Yellow Illustrative School and Education Poster 2.png

The second animal I added below was a smaller one. He is facing to the right of the picture. The only thing he's concerned about is a cool drink. Now I needed to move the 1st animal to make more space in the scene. I moved the 1st animal to the right, closer to the waterway.

Blue and Yellow Illustrative School and Education Poster 3.png

The third animal I added below had a long neck, so I placed him inside the shallow water, facing to the left. For some reason the face of my 2nd animal's face is cut off. Need to adjust his position later.

Blue and Yellow Illustrative School and Education Poster 4.png

The fourth animal I added below had a massive body, so I decided to position him in the sand, facing the center. He looks like he's spotted something he's not happy with at all. The face of my 2nd animal is begging me to fix it.

Blue and Yellow Illustrative School and Education Poster 6.png

The fifth animal I added below was airborne, so I placed him above the others. I found this amazing photo on Pixabay, another free image site. Surpisingly, he had a fish in his mouth. This coordinated perfectly with my theme for the waterway. He's facing to the direction of the left. Adding the 5th flying animal covered the element left over from the Canva template. Also, forgot to fix the face again of my 2nd animal.

Blue and Yellow Illustrative School and Education Poster 7.png

The sixth creature I added below was actually a sea-urchin. I added it just for fun because it matched the blue color of the waterway. I placed it in the shallow water, on the right hand side. It's located next to the foot of the 1st dinosaur.

Blue and Yellow Illustrative School and Education Poster 8.png

Finally, I decided to turn the 3rd animal in the water facing to the right. Then, I needed more space between the animals, so I made those adjustments. I was satisfied the way my Collage turned out.

Blue and Yellow Illustrative School and Education Poster 9.png

3. Completed Photo:

But any piece of art needs a title. So, I added "Waterway Of The Titans". AND, I finally fixed the animal whose face was partially blocked.

Now I have a completed Photo.

Blue and Yellow Illustrative School and Education Poster 12.png

I hope you enjoy the completed Photo entitled "Waterway of the Titans" made from my Collage.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

COLLAGE CONTEST!

text16.png

CONTEST RULES

What is CollageA contest where you use Collage (an easy medium for artists to express themselves by using your imagination and simple tools or basic knowledge of Photoshop) to create impossible combinations to alter the real and make it surreal and dreamy.
Who created it?@georgeboya created the contest and Collage Community
What type of contest is it?It's a photo contest where you create a composition of images that pleases you aesthetically or has a message to convey where you can win a share of the prize pool.
What are the rules of the contest?1. Only new artworks never shown at Steem blockchain (no reposts) [this may be images you own, magazine clippings, or or free images from sites, such as Pixabay/Unsplash/Pexels or others];
2. Subscribe and upload your artwork at the Collage Community; or subscribe and upload your artwork from any Front End that you like as long as your FIRST tag is #hive-174904;
3. Process photographs must be included;
4. Use the #creativecoin tag if you want to receive CCC tokens along with Steem.;
5. Upvote and resteem this post.
6. Might be a great idea to place the link of your post in the original post by @georgeboya.
What do you win?First Place: 50 Stem and 500 CCC Tokens.
Second Place: 30 Steem and 300 CCC Tokens.
Third Place: 20 Steem and 200 CCC Tokens.
5 Honorable Mentions: 10 Steem and 100 CCC Tokens each.

If you didn’t join in this week, consider participating next week!

text16.png

Thanks,
@justclickindiva

Happy rest of the week everyone with whatever your endeavors.


SOURCES:
a) JustClickindiva's PHC logo created by and purchased from PHC.
b) Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by me with my (i) Samsung Galaxy 10" Tablet, (ii) Samsung Phone, & (iii) FUJI FinePix S3380 - 14 Mega Pixels Digital Camera
c) Purple Butterfly part of purchased set of Spiritual Clip Art for my Personal Use
d) Separator Lines Free ClipArt Belt from Public Domain Vectors & ShadedLine from ClipArt-Library
e) All Tribe logos used with permission of Tribe Discord Channel admins.
f) Images Utilized:

UNSPLASH:
Original Image Dan Meyers
Sea-Urchin John Konrad

PIXABAY:
Pterosaur Efraimstochter

PUREPNG.com
All Dinosaur Images

lineseparator.png

lineseparator.png

I SUPPORT THE FOLLOWING GROUPS:



Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png


SteemTerminalBanner.jpg



Sort:  

Looks really cool, thank you so much for your entry:):)

Thanks @georgeboya for your kind words. I saw some really good-looking collage entries. I'm a bit nervous now, lol.

Great photo opportunity. Appreciate your efforts in this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07