Seeing Green - Has crypto broken my mind?

in OCD4 years ago

No, I am not jealous. Jealousy is one of those things that teenagers grow out of with a little experience and thought. There are a lot of jealous people in this world - but that can be for another day.

IMG_20200116_124239.jpg

As the title suggests, I think crypto might have broken my mind. There is a phenomena called pareidolia which is;

the tendency for incorrect perception of a stimulus as an object, pattern or meaning known to the observer

You know how you see faces in things?


source

I wonder if there is cryptopareidolia?

For example, the pylons in the image above immediately generated the thoughts of trading candles and when I buy things, I do the calculations in Steem, not euros. The cup of coffee that is sitting next to me set me back 25 STEEM, which translates into a significant amount of writing time. Pretty much these days, I work around the normal world seeing signs of crypto wherever I go.

Am I insane? Don't answer that. I wasn't talking to you, I was talking to the voices in my head.

What it is of course is that yes, I probably am somewhat insane:

Insane

in a state of mind which prevents normal perception, behaviour, or social interaction; seriously mentally ill.

After all, I work toward and believe that magical internet money that doesn't physically exist is a better currency than that which kinda does exist. And, it is going to go up massively in popularity and value, which means others are going to have to buy into the delusion.

Yet, all currencies are essentially concept only.

But, the real reason I see "signs" everywhere like I am in a M. Night Shyamalan movie is that, I spend so much time reading, writing and thinking about Steem and crypto related areas that I have started connecting my world to it. Naturally.

While some might think this is an unhealthy lifestyle, I tend to disagree as we do this with pretty much everything we surround ourselves with as the we are what we eat concept rings relatively true. Surround yourself with quality people, thoughts, equipment and opportunity, and one is more likely to be influenced. The same is for the inverse. Surround yourself with low quality, one is likely to be influenced.

This skew is important.

Yesterday I wrote an outward facing piece about getting onto Steem and one of the major reasons for anyone to be here is that it is an emerging industry that is looking to try and solve for some of the problems we face in our daily lives, economy, ownership, governance, value and freedom. For the most part, it is these very things that are avoided socially. I find it interesting that we are all somewhat controlled by personal finance, yet it is socially unacceptable to talk about it, even though we all know that we are in a similar boat.

Being on Steem further opens us to the conversations surrounding the things that affect our life and perspectives we might not have considered earlier. Once these new seeds are planted we can either nurture them or pull them, but we have to consider them. The more we consider something, the more we are going to get comfortable with it and once it is familiar, our minds are going to find it in our environments.

There are many different kinds of people but I think that those who see themselves as victims of life have a very different perspective on personal agency, than those who see themselves as survivors. People who are content with their lives tend to expel a more generative energy than those who are bitter. Half empty, half full - some are just glad they have something to drink.

It is much the same in crypto perhaps where some people spend their time on the price aspects, others on the application and community aspects. I would suspect that those on steem who have taken the community path have been less affected by the bear market than those who worry more about the price. And, I don't mean what they post about as that is not the full story. You will see some "community" people who disappear whenever price goes down, then reappear when it is up. Don't be fooled.

Anyway, I will cut it off here and you can make of this what you will, but at the end of the day, the way you perceive my words is up to you and while I can influence and skew the outcome to some degree, it is entirely your responsibility. If you feel attacked and insulted by my words, that is on you, not me. This is especially true in a post, because it is general with no particular individual in mind - so if you feel attacked, what are you identifying with?

I have a lesson to get to - I wonder what crypto topic will come up?

Broken I tells ya.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]


More information can be found at:
Onboarding
 
Sign-Up


Sort:  

You sure that grey matter in your noggin wasn't already broken? There was that time I dropped you on your head when you were three...I had you in a brotherly embrace then saw donuts...The great donut incident of 1982. You were never the same, but I got the donut.

I don't think dropping me on my head would damage much, it is mostly rock.

That's how I justified it actually...🤣

25 Steem for a coffee today seems OK but 15 year it might be insane, right? Like with the famous Bitcoin pizza.

Yeah, I shudder to think what the value might be. Even if it goes to one dollar, that is a very expensive coffee.

An interesting read!

Although it does not concern me what value in fiat any crypto in my portfolio may be at on a certain day (the carefree life of the HODLer), since reading The Third Wave by Alvin Toffler back in the 80's there has been an internal check list in my mind of the advancement of decentralization; which Toffler rightly predicted would be a main force in the Information Age. My excitement with STEEM is that it promotes decentralization on so many levels, offering solutions to shed centralized Industrial Age systems and attitudes.

My excitement with STEEM is that it promotes decentralization on so many levels, offering solutions to shed centralized Industrial Age systems and attitudes.

I think this is one of the fundamental value propositions as essentially anyone who comes in at any level or entry point, they become part of the spread and add to the stability of the infrastructure.

When I think of the word victim, I think of a person that has been oppressed by others, or those that face unimaginable hardships, or have been greatly mistreatment.
To feel like you are a victim due to the shit that may be flying around in your head is the fault of no one but yourself.
To become a casualty of your thoughts is sad and at times can be crippling.
If something is bothering you to this degree, you need to address the situation head on, resolve the issue and move on, and not let it linger until it paralyzes your very being. More people should read your posts @tarazkp, as I feel that your positive attitude may open their eyes and help remove some of the baggage they carry around while feeling sorry for themselves.

To feel like you are a victim due to the shit that may be flying around in your head is the fault of no one but yourself.

Many don't realize this as we have been trained like monkeys to be reliant on others and we want mummy and daddy to protect us from bullies and fix our broken toys.

daming alam.

There are far worse intellectual diets out there. If you're anything like me, you were thinking constantly anyway. Might as well be thinking about something productive.

Yep. I wasted the thoughts as a youth. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88