Promiscuous thinking, I'm coming

in OCD4 years ago

When are you the most creative? For me, I have always though that it is at night when I have some quiet and time to wash away the day and can immerse myself in the space and silence, but I think that this might not be the case. Instead, I believe I just might be much more productive at night, more active and what I thought was my point of creativity is actually the pinnacle of it, where the process has been ongoing the entire day.

Creative foreplay.

Do you partake?

Since I was a teen I think I have engaged in promiscuous thinking, you know, where thoughts bang each other and give birth to other thoughts. While sometimes the innovation might be planned, accidents happen and unintentional thoughts can come together and generate surprises. I believe that these might be the most valuable of thoughts as they take the intentional processing out of it and bring in a degree of randomness and lack of direction that can uncover hidden potential.

To have promiscuity of thought, many thinking partners are needed and what that means is many sources and preferably a diverse mix of perspectives and positions. Something that I fear we are becoming is homogeneous in thought and while many people might not feel this and argue against it, I would say that the evidence can be found in between the polarization.

Public discourse is becoming increasingly clique-based in order to make it clickbait. It is all about choosing a side in order to score points against the opposition and once the drama dies away, move onto the next trending topic that we know nothing about, other than a headline and an emotional reaction. The evidence that points toward homogeneity of thought I speak of between this polarization, is the lack of nuance, where it is either on or off, right or wrong, with all of the complication and condition sensitivity stripped away.

People tend to forget that the entire internet is curated with the popular topics landing on screens and those topics are chosen for their compelling nature, their drama, their shareability, their virality. And, we as the average consumer are not only the hosts, we are the willing hosts that distribute the disease as it makes us feel attractive and part of the conversation, despite our lack of real knowledge and even less understanding.

Because of these large information containers that are dumped onto the average audience, we get swamped with data and what is valuable can be lost and what is attractive becomes our main source of nutrition. Masses of people all taking part in the same conversations, eating the same arguments and using the same defenses, depending on what side of whatever drama is currently in the trendlight.

Yet, people seemingly do not stop to think about whether what they are discussing has any bearing on their life direction or if it generates anything of value for anyone at all. Sure, you might love to rant about how brilliant or foolish Trump is as a person or president, but what does that do for you and the things you care about?

How I see it is that most of the discussions in the mainstream media are designed as busy work so that people do not wake up and see what is actually going on in their lives and perhaps, do something to actually improve them.

It has a feedback loop that is driven by the media to create outrage, that creates clicks which then spread and disseminates the information widely and more senseless people jump on due to social proof and bandwagoning, and this legitimizes the group and makes it a movement, which spurs the media to cover more, which then will ultimately attract opposing views that will drive the conversation further apart and fragment it into a polarized state of outrage, that can be leveraged again by those who control the narrative.

The more people engage in these kinds of conversations, the more personally relevant they feel, even though their lives have likely gained very little at all - while narrowing their perspectives and positions so that they are in various information silos that reinforce their own learned world view. It is hard to innovate when you only have one view and that view is supported by the immersion into a tailored and engineered environment.

Culture is the collection of stories we hold as a group and while once upon a time the diversity and distribution of stories were highly variable, now we lie in a world where most know Game of Thrones, most where Nikes and there is a McDonald's on every corner - and a Starbucks on the other. This narrowing of culture and forming of groups is fantastic.

It is fantastic for generating value and moving wealth through the manipulation of group behavior from the hands of the many into the pockets of the few. It is fantastic as a control mechanism as influence and incentive can be blanket injected into a group with predictable results in behavior. It is fantastic for creating a consumer base that will never be able to stand on their own feet as they will have lived supported by convenience and access to the best creative minds the world has to offer - so good they are that no one need think at all.

We have created a world where there is an incentive to be right and to be right is only a Google search away - but there is no incentive to be wrong and the learning through experience and failure is the pathway to mastery. As I see it, those who live the most valuable lives for society are also the ones who are wrong much of the time, but are always sniffing out the pathway to right.

The core creators of value are the promiscuous thinkers who will face their fears and say, fuck it - and venture out of their comfort zones. The adventurous of mind who don't mind having unprotected group thoughts.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Onboarding

Sort:  

The core creators of value are the promiscuous thinkers who will face their fears and say, fuck it - and venture out of their comfort zones. The adventurous of mind who don't mind having unprotected group thoughts.

Damn, as one who likes to write and enjoys well written prose, all I can say is you nailed it.

You hit the points without belaboring them, you moved on quickly with connected thoughts, you sprinkled in the sexual suggestive but tasteful idioms and your closing statement was awesome.

In short, a short and sweet missive. I am not to proud to say I strive for pieces like this. You are a maestro and I tip my hat 🎩 to you to acknowledge mastery.
✍️

Much praise, thank you.

It is a struggle for me at times to get my point across, but perhaps one day I will find a great editor with a lot of time to read on their hands to go through and put together a book of collected works and quotes.

I don't know if it would be interesting for others though.

Your struggle is understandable, but it has not been in vain. As for editing your posts and collecting your best quotes, points, chuckles and revelations...That would be quite the undertaking as the body of your work is quite large, but nothing worth while is ever easy. I think it would be worth while. 👏

I think it depends on the type of creativity. Much of the more mundane problem solving creativity comes from the flow of doing for me, while the divergent thinking kind of creativity comes from letting my mind wander. I've found extreme lack of sleep most useful for divergent thinking creativity, but that has attendant health issue is done too often. Chemically induced impairment can work to, but yeah not really my thing either.

Posted using Partiko Android

Much of the more mundane problem solving creativity comes from the flow of doing for me

Do you mean the task at hand guides your mind?

I've found extreme lack of sleep most useful for divergent thinking creativity, but that has attendant health issue is done too often.

I actually think that this works for me too, which is how I manage on Steem :)

Chemically induced impairment can work to, but yeah not really my thing either.

I have never tried that kind of thing, but have heard about microdosing and wonder if it is worth an experiment. Not really available in Finland, at least in my circles though.

Do you mean the task at hand guides your mind?

Yes. I find just doing sets my mind up for working around things. It's technique that under pins the systematic approach to graphic design but I find it helps in many other activities too. Recent examples from me are computer programming and outdoors stuff. Basically, it's a technique for allowing tacit knowledge to contribute to problem solving without having to necessarily express whats going on in any explicit manner.

As for mind altering methods, fasting and heavy exercise can also work. Legal substances include alcohol and massive doses of caffeine - the later to the point of hallucination. I have no particular desire to try micro-dosing and have heard mixed results.
I recall Storm Thorgerson saying that drugs might make somebody creative but in his observation they make people lazy. Great to live in cool ideas land but it's just mental exercises without execution.

Considering the desired state of mind for maximum creative output is a curious thing.

I always found the best environment for that was when the guys were together in a musical environment (mainly the studio) after a long day, suddenly hanging out with friends and no rules smoking a fat one.

The trials of the day a distant memory made a little hazier by a couple beers and the prospect of acting childish again.

So, I guess our thoughts were most promiscuous in a juvenile environment with some special additives to inspire that stasis we didn’t even detect as children.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It is possible that during a normal day we have been trained to structure our thinking to fit the structure of life. It could also be why so many artistic types will struggle in "reality" as their mind wants to wander but it is forced to be fenced. Also why creativity can be released by LSD and whatnot, as it takes away the fences to the thoughts that were locked up but looking for release.

!ENGAGE 30

doh... I should remember to put it in the main comments more.



@zekepickleman you have received 30 ENGAGE from @tarazkp!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Most of my brilliant ideas come while I'm sitting on the shitter or when I'm sipping alcohol and sitting quietly. My brain brews both dumb and brilliant ideas in equal measure but my human condition(procrastination) or external factors always stands in the way of implementing them.

Both good and bad thoughts bang the shit out of each other in my brain and I love it when they do

I think most thoughts are useless to very average. It is a normal distribution curve with the majority in the middle being nothing special. A million ideas though, and you might chance upon a couple 3rd and 4th deviation world-changers. Without a narrow knowledge set though, a million ideas are hard to find.

!ENGAGE 30

shhhhiiiiiiit. forgot again... 10 minutes after saying I would put it in the main comment :D



@belemo you have received 30 ENGAGE from @tarazkp!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

You really nailed this one. Probably whetted a lot of peoples' appetites for more. One of your better performances.

It's all in the title ;D

Interesting. Your analysis seems to have a bit of Baudrillard in it. Have your read The Agony of Power by any chance?

I am barely literate these days. :)
Personally, I haven't read that much around what I write about as I am a terrible student. Most of my view is from experience and spending time thinking about it. I should probably do some more reading, but I also want to think my own thoughts rather than onboard the ideas from others who are much smarter than me. Silly perhaps, but I would prefer to discover I am wrong, than be thoughtlessly right - if that makes sense.

As I see it, those who live the most valuable lives for society are also the ones who are wrong much of the time, but are always sniffing out the pathway to right.

I think I can find some solace in this way of thinking. :)

The core creators of value are the promiscuous thinkers who will face their fears and say, fuck it - and venture out of their comfort zones. The adventurous of mind who don't mind having unprotected group thoughts.

Right On!!

I loved this line, it was hilarious:

Since I was a teen I think I have engaged in promiscuous thinking, you know, where thoughts bang each other and give birth to other thoughts.
😂🤣😅

My best time is when the house is asleep, and time is on my side. No work, no phone calls, no distractions, so I turn on some music and make my own, but, mine of the choosing.

All of my questions find answers, even if they need to be renegotiated the next day. Working through the big stuff works well. Adding a bit of wine only enhances the experience, but, makes me second guess the next day.

Adding a bit of wine only enhances the experience, but, makes me second guess the next day.

There is always room for at least a glass. Say say that it loosens the tongue - but I guess the tongue follows the head.... sometimes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20