Avatar Netytiri - Oil Pastel Drawing

in OCD4 years ago

Here's an oil pastel portrait of Neytiri from Avatar that I did back at school as part of my art project Apart from the white line in the middle where the sketchbook pages joined I like the vivid colours and the way it finally turned out even though oil pastels can be hard to work with.

I have not got the process photos however, I started with basic block colours and then added more tones and details as I got further into the drawing. I blended the tones together by going over the basic ones with another colour but did not do it too much as it can get messy. The drawing took several hours to do and was done over two A4 pages.
IMG_20170525_204124931~2.jpg

Thanks for checking out my post and for your support! :)

--Ian

Sort:  

That looks very good, I tried Oil pastel but could not really figure out how best to apply it, still have some laying around. Do you use a thinner to make the colors merge or how you blend them?

Hi Stef, I simply colored one oil pastel over the other one so a light blue over a darker blue to create a smoother transition. However, now you mention it a thinner could work well with the oil pastels as long as it doesn't get too messy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62187.20
ETH 3051.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79