The Elder Sister - The Painting that was a Break

in OCD4 years ago

7C235BDC90484F879FAB486820E2B707.png
Brooklynn Museum, New York

When I visited local provincial museum during my trip to Jeju Island, Modern French Artist Exhibition was being held there as an one-time event.

And I was so tired before having a trip to there that I had managed many works and concerned a lot for my career development. So my attitude of the vacation was just to be relaxed.
It rained the day that we could not visit most of outdoor tourist attractions. So we went to Jeju Provincial Museum in Jeju Island, South Korea.

There I saw the painting “The Elder Sister, reduction(La soeur aînée, réduction)”.
It was very conventional and traditional style that I felt beautiful and holistic in a certain view.
This painting gave a sort of comfort that comes from the image of a young woman caring for her brother. My companions of the trip liked this painting most among all others.
But as I see this painting more and more, it evokes a gloomy and dark feeling. I think the painter or the models might be in bad mood when it was painted.

This painter is William bouguereau, French, 1825-1905.
He got high reputation in his time when Impressionism took place first time. So right after this death, he got blamed a lot as he just had followed very conventional style of painting without any creativity and his paintins over 800 pieces undervalued especially in France.

Many his painting still are in America and this painting is in Brooklynn Museum, New York.

  1. Artist: William Bouguereau, French, 1825-1905
  2. Oil on Panel
  3. Dates: 1864
  4. Brooklynn Museum, New York, US

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88