Achievement 6 Task by @zekea : Understanding Curation and Community

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians,

It's been a while and I'm so glad to be writing again on this beautiful community. I'm finally in my 6th achievement and I can't recall a time I wasn't writing here. I'm grateful for all the community has taught me. Today we are writing on "understanding curation and community".

3jpR3paJ37V8JxyWvtbhvcm5k3roJwHBR4WTALx7XaoRovZJVb1atf8PrLUqz1arf3wJgpk3T8FwQdWzWirkDBFuz11n4it8SJFfx8hT6U7y3wSfkBZa31aSFQeX84L1kjari.png
source

Do you understand how voting and curation works in steemit?

As we all know, Steemit is an exceptional social media, not only does it give you the opportunity to share your content, it manages to ensure that you are rewarded through the "proof of brain concept".
This is done when other users cast their votes on a content they are impressed by. Well, there are two kinds of votes, Upvote and downvotes.
Upvotes reward the author of the content according to how much steem power the curator has (that means, the higher the steem power the higher the rewards) while downvotes reduces the rewards the author might have gotten.
Well, lemme add something else, when a post is being voted, 50% of the rewards is also given to the the user who voted it. This is called CURATION REWARD.

What happens if you vote a post before 5 minutes marks after posting?

Basically, if a post was voted before 5 mins after posting the curator won't get 100% of his or her Curation reward. Yeah, I was also shocked to discover this. Well, there is a pattern in which the rewards are calculated.
If the post was voted immediately after it was posted, the curator won't receive any reward.
If it was voted 1 min after, the curator would just receive 20% of his overall 100.
If it was voted 2 min after, the curator would just receive 40% of his overall 100.
If it was voted 3 min after, the curator would just receive 60% of his overall 100.
If it was voted 4 min after, the curator would just receive 80% of his overall 100.
And finally, if it was voted on the 5th minute, the curator would definitely receive the whole 100% of rewards he was meant to get.
Well, this is the pattern being followed to reward curators. Note: this only applies for upvotes.

Who will you vote for Steem Witness ? and Why?

First of all, the steem blockchain uses the "Delegated proof of stake". Which means that the whole community votes the witnesses they want in place. This witnesses (the top 20), produces a block every 63 seconds and are rewarded with steem power.
Well, the steem witness I would love to vote is @justyy because I've seen his work on steemyy.com and it's of very good help to the whole community. I don't know if that's the reason you expected but I was really thrilled when I saw it.

Which community will you join in Steemit, and why?

Well, since I joined steemit, I've joined a handful of communities. But after I read this article here I joined the Arts community because I'm kinda into arts and I would be posting on this community anytime I make a new painting


Well, I guess this is the end of my little write up on my understanding of curation and community.
Special thanks to @crptokannon and the newcomers' community for this wonderful experience. I got all my info here
Cc:
@Cryptokannon
@bright-obias
@whitestallion
@ngoenyi
@steemcurator03

Sort:  

Hey @zekea, this is Aniqa Mashkoor a greeter helper.

Congratulations you have successfully completed all your achievement tasks from 1 till 6. Now you can compile all of them in a single post.

Hope so you learned and enjoyed while making your achievements.

TASK RATE: 2


Check out these beginner-level introductory courses currently live in SteemitCryptoAcademy to help you more by learning The Steemit Crypto Academy: Season 3 : Beginners Level Introductory Courses

Happy steeming :)

 3 years ago 

Thank you @aniqamashkoor.. would love to try the beginner level introductory courses but my reputation is still below 50

 3 years ago 

Hi, @zekea,

Your post has been supported by @heriadi from the Steem Greeter Team.

 3 years ago 

Thanks you so much for the support @heriadi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85