My First Introduction on Steemit by @shoaib-ali

in Newcomers' Community2 years ago (edited)

Hi, every friend on Steemit! Glad to be here!!!

I am Shoaib Ali, 19 year old, from Pakistan. Currently, I am a student of Environmental Engineering at a prestigious Pakistani University, Mehran University of Engineering and Technology. I can understand three languages Urdu, Sindhi, and English. I live in Hyderabad City which is situated in the Sindh province of Pakistan but my home village is in Sanghar.

1.jpg

My father was a teacher and my mother is a house wife. We are five brothers and have two sisters. We all live in Hyderabad city. However, we occasionally visit our village. I personally like village life the most. It is because, I can play cricket with my childhood friends there. And, village is full of fresh air free from excessive urban noise and pollution and there is a lot of free time to gossip in village than in a city.

My hobbies are playing cricket, listening to music and watching movies, reading books, writing stories and learning new things.

I play cricket a lot. I am an all-rounder, right arm fast bowler and right arm batsman. I was captain of my school team and now I play for my Environmental Engineering Department in our University as an all rounder. In Pakistan we are crazy about cricket but ironically it is not our national game, which is hockey rarely played nowadays. Even my name was also inspired by the world’s fastest bowler, Shoaib Akhtar.

In music, both Pakistani and Indian music are my type. Atif Aslam and Rahat Fatah Ali Khan from Pakistan and Arijit Singh from India are my favourite singers. Ustad Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan and Lata Mangeshkar are also my icons for the classical music. I listen to music when I feel bored. It gives me positive energy and kills laziness so that I can start my study/work again.

I have grown up watching Bollywood movies. Amitabh Bachan, ShahRukh Khan, Aamir Khan are all my favourites. I being an engineer am deeply moved by ‘3 Idiots’ movie. It has shown the real picture of many flaws in our education systems where we value exam results more than actual knowledge gained by the students. I am not a Hollywood fan but Harry Potter Series is my all time favorite because it gives us limitless world of imagination in Hogwarts School.

Novels and History books have been my friends in my spare time. Recently, I have read ‘Sapiens’ by Noah Harari which was a fascinating book about the history of us humans and our evolution from the beginning to till date. In novel genre, I have recently read ‘The Kite Runner’ book by Khalid Hussaini which is another hallmark.

In my childhood, I used to enjoy writing stories and poems. Recently I have started to write as a freelancing Content Writer. I am really enjoying this hobby. And, it is also very healthy exercise for my intellectual growth. Thus, I have decided to work as a freelancing Content Writer along with my engineering field in my career.

I love to learn new things as they say you never get old if you never stop learning new things. Currently, I am enrolled in an online learning platform to learn about principles of Music Writing despite being an engineer. In another course, I am learning about English Literature. Few months ago, I learned a fresher course in Photography.

2.png

For future map, I have decided to continue my Content Writing and improve this Skill along with my formal education in Environmental Engineering. I am also ambitious about doing my Masters Degree in Climate Change from MIT University from USA and return back to Pakistan to work with our government to tackle the horrible challenge of Climate Change which can sweep entire humanity from the Earth.

Thanks all !

Sort:  
Loading...
 2 years ago 

@event-horizon Please verify the first Achievement of the user

Hello, welcome to Steemit!

I invite you to take part in the competition and get a guaranteed prize of 1 steem!

The grand prize is 15 steem! Details here: https://steemit.com/hive-176147/@steemit-market/steem-market-opens-the-prize-money-is-50-steem-everyone-is-guaranteed-a-prize

Good luck!

Welcome to Steemit. You have written a great first introductory post. You missed one thing though. Who introduced you to Steemit? Please mention the username.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14