ACHIEVEMENT 2 Task: @kimibradigha Basic Security On Steemit

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

ACHIEVEMENT 2 by @kimibradigha Task on Basic Security On Steemit

slider-security.jpg

Security is freedom from, or resilience against, potential harm (or other unwanted coercive change) caused by others. Beneficiaries (technically referents) of security may be of persons and social groups, objects and institutions, ecosystems or any other entity or phenomenon vulnerable to unwanted change.

What Are the purpose of Steemit Keys?

These are password or specially defined keys that allow the owner to perform certain task or functions on his/her STEEMIT account. These special keys like every other Password are personal and not to be disclose or shared with anyone because any or third party access to these keys could be dangerous to an individual account. So to keep your account safe one must make be sure that his/her keys are stored in a safe place that can easily be retrieved. This is because if one loses his keys, that person has automatically lost his access to his Steemit account.

Having well a defined knowledge about the Steemit, I will explain in detail and provide an answer to the following questions as part of my achievement tasks in the newcomers' community.

QUESTION 1

Have you retrieved all your keys on steemit?

Yes I have.
I downloaded the copies of the keys sent to me after my registration. I sent them to my flashDrive, wrote them down on my hardcopy personal dairy note, I also got them saved in my offline NOTE book in my phone in case if I couldn't get the hard copy easily due to where I could be.

QUESTION 2

Do you have any idea of each of these keys functions?

Yes I do. In the Steemit community their five major keys which are imperative to the user. And I will briefly explain them.

POSTING KEY

The function of this key is to log in to Steemit account, it is used to perform an editing on the steemit account user, because mistake could occur during write up, so it make it easy to correct the mistakes It can also be used to post, comment, vote, mute other persons' accounts. It also perform the function of Resteem. It's the key that is used to log in to the account anytime.

OWNER KEY

This owner key is very vital to the user. It is used to change or retrieve any key of an account including the owner key itself, i. e, it is used to reset all other keys of an account. If any unwanted happens owner can use this key to get back lost once in some stipulated period as it may be determine by the Steemit community.

ACTIVE KEY

The functionality of this key is that it helps the user to transfer funds from one Steemit user to another, this mean that transaction can take place using this key, additionally it can also be used to Power-Up STEEM and Power-Down Steem. It is also use for converting Steem dollars.

Screenshot_20211108-130434.jpg

MASTER PASSWORD KEY

The master password, known as the seed key. Is used to generate all keys for one's account including the owner key. This is like someone getting access to breath of a person which can terminate the life of such a person. Hence, it's very important not to disclose this key to anyone on and keep it safe.

MEMO KEY

When one is sending money to another person, this key is used to send a brief message to the recipient for quick conversation based in the transaction.

QUESTION 3

How do you plan to keep your master password?

I will do that by writing it down in my personal diary, I also safe it my hard copy printed and offline note.

QUESTION 4

Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

Yes! I can do this by using my Active Key which will help me get into my wallet and perform the activities I wished to do.

Screenshot_20211108-162140.jpg

Screenshot_20211109-082331.jpg

Screenshot_20211109-081004.jpg

QUESTION 5

Do you know how to power up your steem?

Yes! Steem can be powered up to build up my steem power in my account. I can power up my steem in my account by first signing into the wallet with my active key.
Furtherly as indicated below I will click on the arrow on steem and select power up, then I enter the amount I want to power up. After that I can now click on power up and finally click on it to confirm my power up.

Screenshot_20211108-163118.jpg

IMG_20211109_082516_337.jpg

Screenshot_20211109-081144.jpg

Difference between Master key and owner key

One may be confused about the function of this two keys. The master password is used in deriving all other keys through your wallet when you have lost your keys but can still access your master password and will be retrieved from your safe storage place while the owner key is used solely when your account has been compromised.
These keys are all important so it is a must that you keep all these keys safe and well because you cannot recover your account if these keys are lost. Also, you are warned never to allow any third party to access your account or any of your private keys.

To bring my ACHIEVEMENT2 write up to an end: These are the basic information on how to keep my functional keys and importance of security precautions in the steemit account which has also made me understand fully well the functions of each keys in the STEEM as earlier stated. I believe this will be be useful to newcomers to learn from. Thank you for taken your time to go through my security write up.

Steemit A World Changer!!

Special appreciation to
@tmighty for your support so far.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Hi, @kimibradigha,

Your post has been supported by @sm-shagor from the Steem Greeter Team.

 3 years ago 

Congratulations !

You have successfully completed achievment 2 task on "Basic Security on Steem". You can now proceed to Achivement 3 : Content Etiquette.

Curation Rate - 3


Follow @steemitblog for the latest updates and news on steemit platfrom and follow @steemingcurators for find more information about new contests and events.

 3 years ago 

Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59159.44
ETH 2522.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47