The Ink Well Fiction Writing Challenge #1 - Realms of Fantasy

in The Ink Well4 years ago (edited)

Fiction Prompt 1 realms of fantasy.png
Image by Yuri_B from Pixabay modified in photoshop.


Hi @theinkwell writers and creatives. Today, we begin our program of weekly fiction writing challenges. My colleague @raj808 and I want to encourage creativity at the ink well, inspiring as many people as possible to post new original content.

We will be publishing prompts weekly, with fiction on Mondays and poetry on Thursdays. The prompts are meant as a tool to spark an idea and can be used as a continuation of the story, or as the end of the story - it's all up to you and your imagination .

These prompt challenges will last for seven days. Exceptional entries can potentially earn higher Curie rewards. We encourage everyone in the community to actively participate in commenting on other member’s stories because that is the only way we will build a strong community.

This prompt is brought to you by @stormlight24, co-founder, curator and moderator at @theinkwell.

We look forward to reading your entries.



Night fell as I rode into town, the same place where I was taken from so long ago. The calm summer evening awakened memories and emotions that I thought buried deep after the torments I had endured.

I headed straight for the Shining Knight inn, knowing it was the only one in town. After all this time away I felt like a stranger. I couldn’t bear to look down starling street as I rode by quickly, fighting those memories that threatened to break through. That street led to the slum where my house where it all happened. Was it still the same? Some other people probably inhabited it now.

I tied my horse to a tree at the entrance to the inn, and a gruff old man's voice startled me as I filled the horse’s nosebag.

''You’re, alive. I always knew you would come back, Erin ... ''
Through the dim light of evening I saw the feeble old man on the porch of the inn leaning on a walking stick. He cried, his sobs shaking his whole body.

''You’ve returned at a terrible time Erin! You should go back from where you came, the city is full of enemy troops. The Milen Empire lost the city years ago.''

''Hey, you there, unbutton your belt and lower the sword to the ground.'' A sharp voice barked from behind him.

“No sudden moves or we’ll stick you full of holes like a pig on market day.”



If you would like to delegate to @theinkwell you can do so by clicking on the following links:

50SP100SP250SP500SP1000SP5000SP10000SP50000SP

Click banner to visit our community page

Find us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

Sort:  

What an amazing prompt and intriguing opening to what, I hope, will inspire many people at The Ink Well to write a fantasy short story.

I'm already thinking of a possible story set in the fantasy universe where I am setting the action of my first novel (still only half written). Love writing fantasy, and I've published stories set in that universe on steem before @stormlight24, the best of them being The Gelded One.

Hopefully more people will jump on board with this prompt in the next few days as the dust settles from all the drama.

Thanks for the prompt and the contest!
I tried but failed to post in #theinkwell. This ended up in #fiction.
And I haven't found any other entries anywhere. There must be some by now. For what it's worth, here's mine:
https://steemit.com/fiction/@carolkean/erin-of-milen-the-ink-well-fiction-writing-challenge-1-realms-of-fantasy

Oops. I tried to repost in the right hive, and replace the content of the original post,
but I kinda sorta blew it, and I don't want to be taking advantage of upvotes.
How do I transfer the SBD back to the upvoters... or make amends....??

 4 years ago (edited)

Don't worry Carol. I made the same mistake the first time I used the cross post function.

The general consensus seems to be that it is acceptable to use it to share other peoples work to a community. But seriously don't worry about the double post or giving back anything to anyone.

EDIT: I just checked your blog and you haven't reproduced the post, I promise! It is posted perfectly to both The Ink Well and your blog (but as one instance of the post) as I can see it in both locations. If I was a steem high school teacher you'd get an A* ;-)

Everyone on steem understands that there is a learning period with all of these new features with communities. Also, I think that as soon as the developers get back to work, they will be looking to simplify things.

It is a case of being patient. Also, I think you're doing fine for someone who is 'self confessed' technophobe ;-)

 4 years ago (edited)

Hi carol. Thanks for the entry and your post is posted in the community perfectly, not as a cross post lol :-)

No one else has entered yet, but I am in the middle of writing my entry - set in the same world as that story (the gelded one) that was accepted for IOW anthology - for this prompt and am enjoying building the plot as we speak.

I'd forgotten how much I love writing fantasy.

Anyway, rest assured that your story has been posted in The Ink Well and enjoyed very much :-)

@stormlight24 is away travelling for a few days but I am sure he'll be eager to read it when he gets back.

P.s. I just checked your blog and you haven't reproduced the post, I promise! It is posted perfectly to both The Ink Well and your blog as I can see it in both locations. If I was a steem high school teacher you'd get an A*

;-)

Thanks Raj - it took me a major amount of hair-pulling, primal screams, and persistence, but in the end, I dotted the i and crossed the t and got things in the right places. I may owe some upvoters 37 cents divided by 9 people, but I think they'll forgive me this time. :))

 4 years ago (edited)

You did well Carol!

Now you've got it on lock down, it will get easier and easier 🙂

P.s. thanks for being the only fantasy
prompt fictioneer.... Until now 😉

I got mine written at last 🤓

I hope I made the deadline. My first time to join here too ^_^

https://steempeak.com/hive-170798/@iamraincrystal/the-gryphon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87