RAPE AND VICTIMIZATION: AGONY OF THE NIGERIAN GIRL CHILD

in STEEM NIGERIA3 years ago

After I was interviewed on rape and victimization in Nigeria a few months ago by a student journalist in London, I was again a few days ago on the castration law signed in Kaduna, Nigeria.

image.png
Source of image.

Does Kaduna represent all of Nigeria?
Also, a country like this passing a castration law does not give its young ones good sex education.
I remember the one I had some 13/14 years ago. It was my first and it was by a teacher who was so naïve and nervous too, so much that she had a hard time calling the part of the woman's body by their names.
Vagina! Breasts!

I don't remember if she ever mentioned them but even if she did, it was only a few times because I remember 'private parts' more.

She told us about boys, not sex. And she said we would get pregnant if we ever let a boy's skin touch ours.
I was the most naïve thing on earth at the time and I needn't tell you how that scared me. Not just the pregnancy but the lots she said comes with early pregnancy.

I remember she said it would ruin our lives, we would forget everything that we have even learnt and known and that it leads to death.

I wish I can still find that teacher shaa.
We need complete sex education in our primary and secondary schools. We need to educate the younger ones on sex and rape and to teach them that it is never their fault if rape should ever happen.
My life would've been a lot better if someone taught me that.

We need to teach them all the wrongs that customizing and stigmatizing does.
We need a stricter law to be signed in all of Nigeria for rapists.

A person speaks up and she is shamed. Threatened. Another falls a victim and she keeps shut because you can never win in Nigeria no matter how right you are.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62379.78
ETH 3034.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78