STEEM NIGERIA CONTEST: Story of My Life: My Aunty's Death

in STEEM NIGERIA4 years ago

In March 2nd, 2018, i was coming back from class when i met my Uncle's wife in my school at Faculty of Education, University of Benin, i was excited to see her and i ran to her and greeted her, but i noticed she was not herself, before i could ask her what happened, she gave me the shocking news that my aunty, my mother's younger sister has been sick in hospital for a week now and they have operated on her and i was like what? and i didn't hear this, this news got me sad and my excitment of seeing her disappeared immediately.

When i heard of her sickness, she was in an hospital, Okitipupka, Ondo State, Nigeria; but days after, there was no improvement so they refered her to Central Hospital, Ondo, Nigeria. At this point the entire family was so sad and tensed because at the second hospital, they said, they have to operate on her again! What?. My mum, my other aunty and her husband were the ones with her in the hopital, later on my Uncle went to meet them.

After the second major operation, she could talk and move, which gave everyone of us hope that she will survive it. But a day after this improvement, it became worse and at this point she needed to go into coma.

I was totally emotional and completely affected because this my sick aunty is my second mother, not just an aunty to me, she mean alot to me and i love her so much. I couldn't consentrate in school anymore; a lecturer will be teaching and i was lost in thoughts, because i was worried about my aunty's sickness, i went back home to my uncle's place.

On the day of my matric, 10th March, 2018, i could't celebrate it because of my sick aunty, my uncle came back, we were asking him so many questions about my aunty's condition, he asnwered us and told us not to be worried that everything will be fine, we believed him and hoped for the better.

Fews mins later, his wife's phone rang; it was my other aunty in the hospital with my mum looking after my sick aunty that called, she hurridely picked and at other end of the call, my aunty was crying and said that "my sick aunty has passed on". On hearing this bad/ shocking news my uncle's wife threw her phone to one corner in the room and started crying and screaming my name, at this point i was outside, i immediately ran inside to meet her, on seeing me she said "Mama Clemence has die" that is my sick aunty, on hearing this i don't know what happened to me, but i slowly fell down to the ground and started crying silently and as i was crying the memories of her in my life started flowing, those happy and motherly moments with her, the care and love she gave me like a mother, all the gifts she gifted me, all the promises she promised me, all the hope she gave me, everything i had with her was flowing in my head continuously which made me to cry uncontrollably and nonstopping, my aunty die on my matriculation day, 10th March, 2018.
29100987_964055843751163_4401248989043752960_n.jpg
Photo from Facebook download on my profile!

At this point, my aunty's death made me understand the statement "A Painful Exit" it was really painful to me to have loose her in my life, her death created a vacuum in my life where no one else can fill forever.

They made all the burial arrangements, choose a date for the burial which was 16th March, 2018. On that day, her body was taken from the Central Hospital Moutuary, Ondo to her father's village, Arogbo.

Immediately, i saw the ambulance with her orbituary poster on it, i began to cry and said "so it is true" at this moment reality hit me and said to me that truely my favourite aunty, my second mother, my mum's younger sister is dead. "no i couldn't accept it, i couldn't believe it, with the memories flowing in my head, i can't help but cry.

We got to the village, when they brought the casket from the ambulance and when i saw it, i began to cry and ask "is it my aunty that is inside the casket?" "is she the one?"

By traditional, they took her body to her husband's house first, when i got to the house on seeing my cousins, we began to wept heavily and painfully, i stepped into her room, and saw the emptiness of the room because of her absence, i fell on the ground unconsciously weeping, my other aunty came to pull me out of the room and we went to where the casket was layed and on seeing it again, i was crying internally and my heart was bleeding and in serious pain, the husband was sitting on the leg side of the casket by tradition, when he saw me, he was also crying but signalled me to come, i walked to him crying deeply and silently, he hold my hand...........

By tradition, her dead body must go back to her father's house where it will be buried, so in the evening, they moved it from the husband's house to the father's place.

There, they arranged for a wake keep for her, all my life it was only that my late aunty's wake keep night that i didn't close my eyes to sleep at all and cried throughout the night. The wake keep proccess ended at 5am and her body was peacefully layed down to rest forever. In my entire i have not observed a burial rite untill this my aunty's burial.

My aunty's death is one experience in my life that touched me deeply and i can never forget it and i missed her dearly.
Continue to Rest in Peace Mama!
Till we meet again!
I will forever miss you!
I will forever remember you!

#steemnigeria #steemnigeriacontest
#nigeria #team10-nigeria #steemit
My team's link: https://steemit.com/hive-170181/@team10-nigeria/team10-nigeria-introduction
My introduction page link: https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@ayeshanney08/achievement-1-introduction

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

So sorry about your loss, it is really painful.

Thank you for joining the contest.

Good luck.

This post has been rewarded by @beautychicks from @steemcurator04 Account with support from the Steem Community Curation Project."

Keep posting good content and follow @steemitblog for more updates. Keep following all the rules in the Diary Game, as well as improving your Diary post content to get more attention. Thank you, Steemit Team!

Thanks for visiting and rewarding my post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23