Steemit Engagement Challenge Season 2 (Week 4)| The Worst day and the best day of your life - A true life story!@precious123

in SteemAlive2 years ago

Screenshot_20220628-161218.png

Introduction

Our lives are filled with excitement which creates ugly or exciting memories to remember. Some of these occurrences could be unexpected/sudden which can affect for the rest of our lives. I am sure we have all had experiences we could categorize as worst or one we could treasure as the best so far. Although I have got experiences that has affected not only me but others around me, I want to share just two that has personally created an impact on me.

An ugly experience

I remember when my disciplinarian mother sent me on an errand across the street. I was 11 and this happened in the year 2016. On that fateful day, my mom came back from work at 4:00pm as usual and told me to deliver a first aid kit, written note and some cash to her fellow nurse who lived across the street, actually this errand would not has lasted more than 15 minutes but something funny yet serious happened. On my way to delivering the kit/cash, I met my friends who lived down the street and they were happily engaged in the popular "hide and seek" game. I found this as a great opportunity to have fun as I was always kept indoors, I kept the kit where our footwear's were scattered as the game was more interesting without footwear. I was so carried away that I totally forgot I had a mission to accomplish.

Everything was going on well untill I saw my mom approaching from the other end, it then dawned on me that the sun had set, at this moment I knew I was in for war. My mom finally caught up with me and asked if I had delivered the kit/cash. I almost fainted when we got to where I had keep the kit but it was nowhere to be found. After a fruitless search, we went home and I was shocked my mom did not get mad at me on the spot not knowing that there was more in stock for Precious. It was bedtime and I went to bed peacefully anticipating a fabulous morning unknown to me my mom had plans for me.

Around 10:00pm while I was fast asleep, my mom swung into action, she locked the door so no one could intervene/rescue me from he custody. She searched round and located a plumbing pipe which she used generously on me, the long pipe broke into pieces but my mom was in for it. She saw a metal hanger and made use of it as well. I sustained several bruises but one was so severe that after healing, it left a big scar on my right hand. My hand got swollen and I had to stay home for the week, I missed classes and I lagged behind when I finally resumed.

Screenshot_20220628-161112.pngThe scar

Lessons I have learnt

  • I rarely get distracted, it has become part me
  • I make sure I achieve my goals first
  • Important things first(business before pleasure)
  • I have been more careful since then

Best moment

My best moment was the day I checked my jamb result, actually the events surrounding this jamb were so discouraging. I was so broke and got no cash to register, when I finally did register I got seriously ill, so ill that I could not step outside and this affected my reading habit badly. Sincerely speaking, if the registration fee was refundable, I would have gotten a refund because all hope was lost. I tried covering up all the textbooks and past questions the night to the D-day and the next morning, there was a torrential downpour but I had to write the examination.

When I arrived the center, my system refused to cooperate, I cried as I had to be transferred to another branch where I got a functional system,I wrote and left the hall devastated. When I heard the results were out, I never bothered checking as I thought I was a failure, after much persuasion by my mom I decided to try it out, I followed the procedures and boom it was sent immediately. Surprised/excited I rushed to my mom to break the goodnews to her, with a dazzling smile she said congrats, I felt somewhat fulfilled.

Screenshot_20220516-202442_1.pngThe result

Lesson I have learnt

  • Strong people never give up
  • Patience is the key
  • The end counts not the beginning

Conclusion

The ordeals that life offers us could be favorable or not but maturity is the ability to tackle/cope at such times. May good experiences outnumber the ugly ones, we should never give up:better days ahead
@preye2
@preciouseffiong
@ijebest
The aboved mentioned individual should please endeavor to participate in this contest, she is anticipating your entry.

Sort:  

It is so pathetic to see the bruises on your arm which was done by your mother, sorry about that. Well there is a saying that says, spare the rod and spoil the child but she was too hard on you, sorry about that.

And congratulations, you passed your exams. Wish you goodluck.

 2 years ago 

My mom is a typical African woman, her anthem is that Bible portion that says train up a child in a way that he should go.

Thanks for the compliment, wishing you luck as well

Wow so is my mum. That bible verse never left her too. 😂😂

 2 years ago 

I feel like laughing when you said your mum did not do you any thing because i know that she has a hidden agenda hahaha . Thank God for your Jamb. I wish you success

 2 years ago 

Lol, my mum na chameleon oooo
Thanks for the compliment

 2 years ago 

Hahahaha yes nah she wants the best for you

 2 years ago 

Well noted........

Wow, let me start by commending that I admire your manner of writing, as it very clear and organized. It's true that we all have our bad days hun, what makes us victorious is looking beyond it. Your mum is really an African mom🤣, as they take discipline very seriously.
I am really impressed about the outcome of your Jamb result, you are so brilliant and dedicated to what you do and I love you for that. Good luck in this contest and I hope to join soon too.

 2 years ago 

Thanks darling
You nailed on the head
Can't wait to read your entry soonest

Distractions can cause you a lasting pain, it can even take life, so no matter what we should never be distracted especially during important errands that can take life

 2 years ago 

It is true
And I have learnt my lesson

 2 years ago 

I sustained several bruises but one was so severe that after healing, it left a big scar on my right hand. My hand got swollen and I had to stay home for the week, I missed classes and I lagged behind when I finally resumed.

Sorry about that dear friend, it's part of training. At least, since then, you have been valuing what is important not playing.

Congratulations on your JAMB results. No matter all odds, you still make it. Seems you are very intelligent.

 2 years ago 

I'm flattered, thanks for the compliment, perseverance is the key

Woow this is so beautiful. I'm glad that despite all what you went through after your JAMP registration, you still finally passed the exams which means that God was with you all along. This is why it is good never to say never until it is done because only the end always determines the outcome of any thing. I'm also glad you never gave up though you where discouraged and it yielded good fruits at the end which your mom was proud of you

 2 years ago 

I'm flattered
Thanks @chiabertrand
We must never give up

You are welcome my dear. You need to be proud of your self because you are an intelligent girl and I love intelligent people 🤗

 2 years ago 

Awwwwnnn
I'm flattered
Thanks for the compliment

You are always welcome my good friend 😊

Gosh! I can't believe am locked between reactions, should cry with you or laugh at you?
What a lesson, I have learnt a lot... I know your mom corrected you by disciplining you but she made a mistake by keeping a scar on you it's quite bad to have something like that. But all efforts cumulated to making you a better person and that is what matters most.
@precious I am really jealous of your result I had 209 in my own result.
Physics - 49
Maths - 51
Geography - 57
English - 52
Thank God for you my sister.

 2 years ago 

My mom ehhhh, she no dey carry last oooo

You had a nice result my dear
So we'll be leaving for higher institution together, gonna be fun 😁

She adores you

Lol that was 2020 result I was at the brink of joining a higher institution but my WAEC needed to be well amended. I had 2 d7 in two Important subject. But now am done with WAEC, I only need to write Jamb again hopefully ASUU will be brought back to senses...

 2 years ago 

Ohhhh
I understand

 2 years ago (edited)

Your story was written in simple and clear terms.It was a delight to read.Your mum tried to correct you by spanking you mercilessly;it was in a bid to make you a better person though.I am sure you have learnt your lessons.

On the Jamb result:it was somewhat a miracle given the fact that sickness never allowed you to study well coupled with the rigamarole that took place on the exam day.I am happy for you.Congrats.

Checking the rules

CriteriaRating
Club5050
Plagiarism-free✔️
SteemExclusive✔️
Bot-free✔️

Checking Post Quality

CriteriaRating
Compliance with Topic2/2.5
Use of Markdown1.8/2.5
Spelling and Grammar2.2/2.5
Content Depth2/2.5
Total8/10
 2 years ago 

Thanks..... everything has a reason for happening

 2 years ago 

You are very correct.Life is a lesson and each experience in life is teaching us something that would benefit us in the future or make us wiser and more disciplined.

Regards!!

 2 years ago 

Mothers can be funny and serious at the same time, i have been so angry like her and left a mark on my Son hand too, from that day, i vow to beat any of child when am angry, many mothers have killed their children on the process.

You did well by learning vital leason from it.

It’s supposed to be a sad moment but lol.

Apart from the part where your mom gave you bruises I think I can relate with your story . That’s how my mom was when we were little. Immediately you do something she wouldn’t reach at that moment cause she knows when she does that you will want to run and you will be careful. She will leave you when your mind no dey again then she will get you 😂.

The end counts not the beginning

This got my attention.

The process doesn’t always matter or how you did. The end result is always what counts and if you are successful at the end you will understand why you worked so hard for it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34