THE DAIRY GAME: ATTENDING A TRADITIONAL MARRIAGE AS AN ASOEBI FOR THE FIRST TIME| 11/01/2021 | 10% PAYOUT TO STEEMALIVE

in SteemAlive3 years ago

IMG-20220111-WA0021.jpg


INTRODUCTION


Hello everyone welcome once again to my blog today I'll be telling you about my first asoebi experience. So a friend asked me to do asoebi for her sister I was excited because it was my first time but also reluctant due to certain personal reasons one of it being that I'm a shy person but she convinced me it was going to be a nice experience so I accepted. The marriage took place at egbema community in Imo state, It was an awesome experience.stay with me as I share my experience.


TWO WEEKS BEFORE THE MARRIAGE DATE


My friend had sent the asoebi uniform to me but since I didn't know of any good tailor I kept it tied at home.it stayed home for more than a week and I couldn't call her to let her know I haven't taken mine to the tailor not untill the Monday of the week of the marriage when she called me to ask if I've collected my cloth from the tailor and I let her know I haven't even taken it to the tailor she wasn't happy happy about it but she came to my house and went with me to the tailor that did her's and it was expensive cause it was now an emergency job. The tailor did a good job though and I collected it a day before the marriage date.


THE DAY OF THE MARRIAGE CEREMONY


I woke up at 6:00am and attended early will I seek thee online and then said my morning prayers and asked for journey mercies after which I took a shower and packed my stuffs. We were supposed to meet at her place of work by 8am so that the we would take the bus she hired I was almost left behind though because I was stuck in traffic but I did manage to plead with them to wait and I met up with them. It was supposed to be a two hour journey but because of the bad roads we have it took three hours thirty minutes but we arrived safely.


ARRIVAL AT THE VENUE OF THE MARRIAGE

what3word


When we arrived at the village they had mounted the canopies and we were welcomed with jellof rice and chilled bottles of malt after filling our belly the makeup artist we brought with us got to work making up all the asoebi girls...At the 12:00pm guests had started arriving and the music was put on and the occasion had kicked start, the bride was called for the first outing and we went with her danced around and sold some things that were wrapped I think eggs and garden eggs. After the first outing we went back inside and she was called upon again
to go in search of her husband one thing was amusing though they have this tradition where it's the oldest person in the family that prays and blesses the drink not the bride's father. There was dancing and eating and drinking and then the gift presentation.All in all it was a success. After the wedding some of the girls left but I stayed back with my friend and spent the night.

The next morning the mum gave me food stuffs to take back with me. At about 8.00am we went to the park and boarded a vehicle that will take us back to town.it was really an awesome experience for me having to be asoebi for the first time.


Thanks for reading..

Cc:
@focusnow
@ngoenyi
IMG-20220111-WA0023.jpg

IMG-20220111-WA0020.jpg

Sort:  

Wow you really had fun over there.

Yeah I did

2.jpg
We have supported this post. Keep on making great content in our community. Always check @steemalive for community updates. Thank you being an active member.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59005.68
ETH 2516.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48