My Egusi Recipe | Betterlife with Steemit | Steemalive

in SteemAlive3 years ago

9A3635FC-8EEA-41B1-A12E-74E600A67CD7.png
Designed in canva

Hello great friends, another wonderful day and I hope you all are having a nice and beautiful day. Today I would walk you all through the preparation of my delicious egusi soup.

Introduction

The egusi soup sometimes is called egwusi or melon soup it is popular in the southwest and southeast regions of Nigeria and is eaten with garri, semo, eba etc.

Ingredients

Grounded egusi
Vegetable leaf-Ugwu
Fresh pepper
Meat
Dry Fish
Ponmo
Red oil
Periwinkle
Grounded cryfish
Onion
Salt
Maggi

C856A5A7-8D4B-4282-B58A-BF9C4A3F132B.jpeg
The ingredients


Step 1

Now, before proceeding to the fire and pot, you first have to get your ingredients ready, chop your onions, wash your meat, wash the fish, wash the periwinkle, grind the fresh pepper, wash and dice the ponmo into smaller pieces, chop the ugwu leave. Now get you pot ready.

Step 2

Steam the meat and ponmo under low heat with some spices (onion, pepper, salt, maggi etc). Get your egusi ready by soaking in cold water to reduce the smell of the egusi.

D5BF5DD6-4618-4B81-94FE-F25388E24C18.jpeg
Steaming meat


Step 3

Place your empty clean pot on the fire and allow to get dry then add your red oil. After a few minutes you add your chopped onion, allow to fry for a bit then add you egusi.

Step 4

After the egusi fries a while, add your meat sauce, your ingredients, your meat, fish and ponmo, periwinkles and all the obstacles you’d prefer in your soup (prawns etc). Then allow to boil.

Step 5

When it boils to the point of getting done you add your vegetable (ugwu leave). Leave to boil for a few minutes and yea it’s ready now. Enjoy.


1E3DA7B3-CEEE-4A19-8C8A-539F7E081588.jpeg
Addition of Ugwu

7CFB9541-9480-4615-A1F6-ACCD5F57AC96.jpeg
Egusi soup ready


Thank you all for going with me through my cooking journey till the next recipe.

Shoutout to;
@focusnow
@prolee
@bright-obias
@steemalive

Sort:  

yummy.
its been long i prepared egusi soup, cause its not my favorite

Thank you for reading through.
Oh, what’s ur favorite soup?

my dear, its vegetable soup ooo

Delish….I love it too

Nice step by step tutorial from you dear @estyroberts.

I've been a cook lately since cooked food's price sored higher if not I use to buy instead .

I love egusi soup much, but my major drawback is that, I find it very difficult to prepare it, hopefully your tutorial will be of great worth to me.

Yes, try it you’ll enjoy it🙂.

Nice recipe, you remind me of home.

🙂🙂🙂…thanks for reading through.

2.jpg
We have supported this post. Keep on making great content in our community. Always check @steemalive for community updates. Thank you being an active member.

Thank you🤗❤️

 3 years ago (edited)

Nice one, though I don't love equisi that much. Well the recipes are nice

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 65493.35
ETH 2639.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86