Arrival - An Original Acrylic Painting by Chris Thomas (Me)

in SteemAlive3 years ago

Arrival.jpg

Arrival
By Chris Thomas (me)
Acrylic on 16 x 20" Canvas
May 2021

After over 30 hours of work on this piece I finally finished it up last night.

It remains unvarnished but I'll put that finishing varnish layer over the top later!

This piece was heavily inspired by Norse mythology, representing the tree Yggdrasil that holds the nine worlds. I've always been fascinated by Scandinavian history, mythology, and culture.

Here's a few in-process photos of the piece:

arrival1.jpg

I started with the background gradient, then added in the tree trunk and branches. I put in the leaves, layering them with several shades.

arrival2.jpg

The next step in my process was adding in the floating land on the right side, as well as the world.

arrival3.jpg

Then I started adding in the Viking figure, detailing slowly. Next was the grass and other small details, which would lead us to the final piece.

Arrival.jpg

Who am I? I'm an acrylic surrealist artist from the Pacific Northwest. My style ranges from science fiction, fantasy, landscapes, and more.

eubi lemon loungers w painting.jpg

Some of my links:

Website: https://artofchristhomas.bigcartel.com/

Here is my tik tok post of Arrival: https://www.tiktok.com/@chrisonthischarizard/video/6959535812027403526?lang=en&is_copy_url=1&is_from_webapp=v1

And my instagram post of Arrival as well: https://www.instagram.com/p/COk2gjdhj0r/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14