Mission Impossible: Fallout - Much better than I expected

Despite their predictable nature and pretty stock-standard story-lines, I have to admit that the Mission Impossible movies always kind of appealed to me. This was especially true with MI2 where Philip Seymour Hoffman became my favorite villain of all time briefly. Following that, and especially with the addition of Simon Pegg and his dumb comedic interludes that I don't think did the franchise any favors, I lost interest in the MI movies altogether.

The other day, in lieu of anything better to do, I decided to give the latest MI movie a go anyway and I liked it a lot more than I thought i was going to and feel as though they started to return to their semi-dark roots, which is a good thing.


source

The film starts out in the usual fashion, with Ethan Hunt receiving directions in the "if you choose to accept it" type way in some secluded location. He then gathers his team to go after some horribly nefarious characters who are dead set on global destruction (again.)

I suppose the story isn't really important because that isn't what makes these films good; we all know that the Hunt and the MI crew are going to emerge victorious and it is just a question of how.

5b476152f2052938008b468b.jpg
source

What potentially make the MI films entertaining is the tension and the crazy situations that Ethan finds himself in and the brilliant manner in which they film it to make it look so real. Tom does actually do a lot of his own stunts and part of the fun is trying to figure out which ones he did himself and which ones are a body double. Seriously, it is hard to tell and this is true even for the high speed motorcycle chases.

Simon Pegg and presumably the writers kept his dumb comedic interludes at a minimum and Ving Rhames and his ever-increasing-in-size head didn't get involved in much of the action either - which is good in my mind (sorry Ving).

541a9180b3f1b4c074a026e69d6a0d7616a8a747.jpg
source

I did enjoy the addition of CIA agent, August Walker (Henry Cavill) to the crew and his participation in some of the fight scenes was really top drawer. What's funny about his inclusion in the film is that even though he is only 6 foot 1, he makes Tom look short (because Cruise IS short) the few times that they appear side by side. I can't say for certain but I believe that Tom will normally not be in scenes with people much taller than he is unless they use creative camera angles to conceal the fact that he is only 5 foot 8. I think 5 foot 8 is probably really close to average male height anyway, but certainly not the height of a person that a viewer would consider an intimidating action star.

This is why all of the members of his team are chosen this way in all the MI movies, very rarely are they, or any of the baddies, over 6 feet tall: Case in point is Ving Rhames, who despite being wide and muscular, is only 5 foot 11.

0c713f4c3becaa837838163ff9694817.jpg
source

One of the wildest action sequences happens at the very beginning in a situation where the team needs to skydive from a height where oxygen is necessary. This is NOT CGI, and cruise and a film crew jumped from a military airplane 106 times over the course of a year in order to get the footage necessary. I think this might be part of the reason why the budget was nearly $200 million.


From the official Paramount channel

The film nearly pulled in $800 million at the global box office and I think this can pretty much assure that there will be a 7th film. Their return to a less whimsical story and some pretty dark overtones is a welcome on in my mind, because when Pegg (who i still do not like in the cast) was added, I thought that the entire Mission Impossible series of films was on it's way out.

Fallout might be the best one out of all of them in terms of action and is definitely worth watching. I would say that it is one of the best action films of the past couple of years.

My overall rating! 8.5 / 10


tumblr_nvsv177bFA1uitzhdo1_400.jpg

Sort:  

That's a pretty fair assessment... I would like Tom Cruise much more as a actor if he wasn't such a weirdo IRL

yeah he kind of disappeared from doing anything public other than just doing films after his antics got him in a spotlight that he probably didn't want to be in via SouthPark and that crazy stint on Oprah. Of course there is the Scientology stuff too.

I watched it in the cinema with a friend who had never seen any of the Mission Impossible movies and she liked it. Personally, I enjoy it because it is packed with action, but also lots of humor, making it a mixture of both action-filled and giving me some great laughs!

I also like the scenery, and the picture above where he is hanging from a cliff was recorded at the Preachers Pulpit in Norway and he was there himself to make the stunts... really cool :)
image.png

They are already planning the seventh movie and I read that Tom Cruise might meet with the Norwegian Prime minister to do some negotiations about bringing film crew to Norway to make the movie (which is a bit more difficult now due to the coronavirus). Anyway, I look forward to the seventh movie, because I really have a good time watching these movies!

I watched this the other day as well out of sheer boredom. They do a good job of keeping you glued to the screen because the stunts are insane. I do like the dark overtones where Tom keeps seeing his wife in dreams and what not.

yeah that happens a lot SPOILER: Is she really working for IMF or whatever it is called? Or is Ethan seeing things?

i skipped this one until i read your review so i watched it. I actually really enjoyed it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16