Steemit Engagement challenge season 9 week 5 contest - what mountain do you want to climb?

in Steemit Travellast year (edited)

hintersee-3601004_1280.jpg
Pixabay

Greetings to my fellow steemians and members in this steemit travel community. I had to hop on this engagement challenge season 9 week 5 contest with the title "what mountain do you want to climb?".
So then I would love to share my few experiences with you guys on the mountain I climb and the one I would love to climb next.
Thanks in anticipation for going through my post, I hope this inspires you a lot.

Have you ever climbed a mountain? Describe your experience

1684618897043.jpg
Source
This is the picture of the Obudu Mountain, it's also called the python mountain because of it's walkway shape.

I would love to share with you my experiences on the Obudu Mountain which I climbed. The Obudu Mountain is located at Cross Rivers state, Nigeria. It is a very high mountain with 1,716 meters above the sea level. It has a nice climate and a wonderful site for tourism.
I was opportune to visit the place because of the excursion my school had back then in my secondary school for students. We had to travel all the way from Akwa Ibom state through some states before we could get to Cross River State, where the Obudu Mountain is located. The Obudu Mountain is also known as "Obudu cattle ranch" which we were told buy our tour guide, the place was created by Mac Donald, from scotland.
The mountain has many facilities like the cable car, canopy walkway, etc.
When I got there, i had to cross from one mountain to the other using the cable car, but unfortunately the cable car had issues which had to be fixed. Sadly, I missed my opportunity of entering a cable car which would have been my first time, so I had to use the canopy walkway which was tied from the base of one mountain to the other. It was a scary and breathtaking experience for me, for it was my first time climbing such.

1684618959049.jpg
Source
This is the picture of the canopy walkway across mountains.

The higher I go the more scarier it becomes, as I walk through it, the bridge was shaking and you could see me so frightened as if I was going to miss a step and fall off the bridge, but to God be the glory, I made it to the other mountain top. The mountain is a boundary between Nigeria and Cameroon.
It also has amazing features like wildlife including different animals like monkeys, gorillas, birds, elephants and even antelopes. Other activities like mountain climbing, swimming, playing the golf game could be done there.
It was a nice experience there and I mean I could stand on the mountain top and feel the clouds, it's a nice place to tour.

Which mountain will you climb next? What sensations and passions do you want to find there?

Since the last time I climbed the Obudu Mountain I have always wished to climb another great mountain which is outside my country, Nigeria. The next mountain I want to climb is the mount kilimanjaro located in Tanzania.

mount-kilimanjaro-1025146_1280.jpg
Pixabay
The Mount kilimanjaro

According to my research "Mount Kilimanjaro is the highest mountain in Africa, located in Tanzania. It stands at 5,895 meters (19,341 feet) tall and is composed of three distinct volcanic cones: Kibo, Mawenzi, and Shira. The mountain is part of the Kilimanjaro National Park, which was established in 1973".

As for the sensations and passions I would want to find there, I would love to adventure and tour around to feel the beauty of nature and landscape scenes, Connect with nature, have a view of the wildlife around during my walking.

It will also give the opportunity to meet and interact with other mountain climbers, from international and within, would also learn new things from them and the beautiful environment. Also taking pictures of different sites around would be one of my passions.

What challenges might you find to climb the mountain of your dreams? How will you find a solution to that?

Altitude sickness: Most mountain climbers fall a victim of this, as the distance to be trekked and to climb from the base of the mountain to the top is very long so this might cause symptoms like headache, fatigue, catarrh, joint and leg pains. The solutions to this is to take the climbing slow and steady, stay dehydrated, rest for a while before continuing the touring.

Weather conditions: Exposure to different whether condition is certain while climbing Mount kilimanjaro as one would be exposed to rainfall, bad wind, snowfall and cold. The solutions to this challenge is to take along with you appropriate clothing for such weather conditions. For instance, cardigan, head warmer, hand gloves, and socks for cold.

Physical fitness: This condition really affects the inexperienced mountain climbers and the unfit climbers. So to solve this, one must be physically fit, trainings must be done and a climber guide should be available to guide you.

Hygiene and sanitation: Proper maintenance of hygiene must be observed, to prevent sickness. Make sure to take personal hygiene items along. Also be conscious of where they are disposed after using them.

What did you prepare to be able to climb the mountain of your dreams?

Physical fitness: I will make sure I prepare myself physically, do regular exercises to keep my body fit and ready for the climbing and also prepare my mind visualizing the whole mountain and the climbing.

Food and water: I will make sure I carry enough food(non- perishable) and water, like snacks and energy drinks to keep me active and hydrated.

Medical equipment: I will make sure I equip myself with some first aid materials incase of emergency.

Climbing equipment/backpack: Make sure that my equipments to climb are intact, and to carry a portable backpack that will contain my snacks, extra clothes, first aid materials, etc.

Safety: I must check the weather conditions first before climbing and also inspect the rocks I will climb to avoid hazard or falling.

Thanks for reading my blog!

I invite, @bossj23, @whizzbro4eva and @professorlenz to join me in this contest.

Cc,
@hive-163291
@patjewell

Sort:  
 last year 

Hi there ☺️ I'm seeing you're a very newbie friend ☺️ welcome to the platform. Take some minutes to get verified on this group, it's easy to follow instructions:

https://steemit.com/hive-163291/@hive-163291/member-verification-process-for-september

Regards.

This post has been upvoted through Steemcurator09.

Team Newcomer- Curation Guidelines for APRIL 2023

Curated by - @tocho2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59128.17
ETH 2522.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48