Day 12 of #lockdown2020: Ficus Mircocarpa, thread grafts and slip potting.

in Bonsai4 years ago (edited)

IMG_3177.jpg
A unexpected turn of events is how I would describe today. When I started off my day I did not think that I would be re-potting a tree and doing a thread graft on the same day. Just shows you that life can be full of surprises. I worked on a small portion of my Ficus collection through out the day and these are the highlights.

The first tree I worked on was a Ficus Microcarpa raft style bonsai tree that I have been training for the last couple of years. You do not see a lot of Ficus trees being used for raft style bonsai trees or at least not where I come from. A raft style bonsai is: a style that represents a tree that has fallen over and continued to grow forming a small cluster of trees along what once was the trunk of a tree. If you think about it a Ficus should actually be the perfect tree specie for this style. As they tend to grow if a part of them just smells the ground...

Here is my raft style tree.
Before
IMG_3159.jpg
IMG_3160.jpg
After
IMG_3161.jpg
IMG_3162.jpg
This is the second year since the tree has been removed form the parent plant. I have trimmed the tree back on a regular basis and will need to re-pot it soon. I will also be wiring the trunks and placing them a bit more up right.

The next two trees I work on were both new cuttings about two years old. The one I did a thread graft on today the other one is a thread graft that I removed from the parent branch.
New thread graft
IMG_3163.jpg
IMG_3174.jpg
Removing the parent branch from the graft
IMG_3180.jpg
IMG_3182.jpg
IMG_3188.jpg
IMG_3185.jpg

I then re-potted a root over rock styled bonsai tree. The tree had to be re-potted in January 2020 but I missed that window so I slip potted the tree into a bigger container without working on the roots.
IMG_3193.jpg
IMG_3195.jpg
IMG_3198.jpg
After I re-potted the tree I looked at the trunk and it was too straight. I then used two guide wires to add in a bit of movement to the trunk. Please note that this tree is made up of a few smaller cuttings that I placed over a rock. So it is easy to bend as the trunks have only started to fuse together at the base so the rest of the trunk is still single trees.

IMG_3201.jpg
IMG_3206.jpg

This was the last tree I worked on today. My wife bought this tree for me last year during our annual bonsai show. I have come to love this tree almost as much as I love my wife. ;-) I trimmed back the long shoots on this tree and bend one branch close to the apex down to cover a empty spot.

Thank you for taking the time to read my blog. Hope you enjoyed it. Please feel free to leave your questions and comments in the section provided below.

#teambonsai
#bonsaicommunity

Before I leave you guys I thought it would be great to share this amazing opportunity with you guys that I came across. I received my first payout yesterday, after using the browser for 5 days and my payout was 11 USD.

Are you the type of person that likes your privacy and don not want anybody seeing what you are busy with online and tracking you every move. I have just the solution for you. Download the Brave web browser:
https://brave.com/bon731
Not only does it protect your private data but you can get paid for using this internet browser just by watching the adds that you want. It’s really worth downloading and if you are a content creator like many of you are, you can get paid for your content by linking your sites to your brave rewards account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05