A fungus among us

in Freewriters4 years ago


morell-386757_640.jpg

I read several years ago that the largest living organism is a fungus that grows in the Pacific Northwest of the United States.

A fungus. A mycelium. The basis for mushrooms.

I don't remember what kind of was and I don't want to take the time to look it up. I just thought it was interesting.

Around here, people go into the woods in the spring looking for morells. I've never found any but I have been given some and I can say they they were fantastic when sauteed in butter!

The ones I saw most often when I was a kid were in cow pastures and were most likely of the psylicibin variety.

I think I'd rather eat the non-trippy kind.


3b1d81e5-6230-4ddb-8bdc-27668dc4cfd3.jpg

5 minute freewrite prompt fungus

Image by PublicDomainImages

Sort:  

Yes, fungi are amazing! And the ones we see above ground are just a tiny bit of what is there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 62166.63
ETH 3021.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72