You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do you have talent? yes you do!

in Freewriters2 months ago (edited)

Thelonious Monk supposedly said: "A genius is the most like himself."

I don't know much about the guy, but I like that quote. I figure when trying to express yourself you shouldn't try to be someone else (seems logical enough). Doesn't mean you shouldn't change, but there's value in knowing yourself and the things you want. Or don't want, for that matter.

Granted, chances are you're not special, like me, but how many people are willing/able to take that look into the mirror and express themselves the way they actually are, not like how they want to be seen? Not many, I would reckon. Just take it in terms of them not having the opportunity to do so in the first place. There's millions and millions of busy plumbers, but how many of those end up painting? Or maybe you are special, but you're also trapped in your own normalcy bias and don't realize how interesting you actually could be.

Long story short: I tend to tell myself how I shouldn't concern myself with notions of talent. Either it's there or not. Just start kindling whatever spark you find within yourself. Work hard and try to become undeniable. Stop relying on people's opinions but have self-awareness. Could be bullshit, but again, that's what I'm telling myself.

Edit: In terms of America's Got Talent the knowing yourself thing seems to apply. There's nothing wrong with doing that stuff on principle, but is it really what you want? Are those your people? I can't express the thought very well, but I'd compare it to being back and school and trying to become popular with some clique you've got nothing in common with. You'll just seem desperate while giving them the authority to judge you. The whole ugly duckling kind of thing, you know?

Sort:  

Granted, chances are you're not special, like me, but how many people are willing/able to take that look into the mirror and express themselves the way they actually are, not like how they want to be seen? Not many, I would reckon.

These words remind me of something I have written about, and I will finish that article and post it, I think I saved it somewhere. Thank you for your encouraging words my friend

No worries. A rising tide raises up all boats, or as they say. Looking forward to reading it :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65317.17
ETH 2646.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86