My first day in high school and my experience

in Steem Schools3 years ago

86B0A39F-EFBE-4FB3-936E-44D6F185C94B.jpeg

My experience in Presbyterian senior high school was quite eventful it afforded me the opportunity to meet new people from various parts of my country. It was the period I felt so isolated because I happen to be the only person from my village who had admission into the school. Presbyterian senior high school was relatively a new school which at the time I gained admission had then be established barely two years before. Most of my friends did not choose it because they had not heard about it. I felt sad because I had missed my former school at the junior high school but took consolation in the fact after all, I was no longer in the junior high school but admitted in a higher institution.

75E6F16D-3D78-4229-AAB0-8BF76D5DD426.jpeg

My first day in school was Sunday. I arrived at the school premises at 5 o’clock pm in the evening with my bag. I was quickly led to the one of the dormitory blocks that later learnt to be Oikonomus house. I found my self in one of the rooms which accommodated twenty students. All these new faces were unfamiliar and older. Some those faces suggested friendship while a few others suggested that I should wait and that they will deal with me later.

5FD084D1-8273-474D-9BDD-96E3398535E5.jpeg

When it was 8 o’clock, the school bell was rung and both older students and apparently new students moved to the school’s hall. Some teachers were already in the hall. The teacher who took charge of the assembly asked us to sing songs of praise. After the prayers and worship session, a well clad noble man, whom I later found to be the principal asked one of the teachers to lead the gathering in a short prayer. The principal then welcomed all students back to school and also announced the program of activities if the term to the delight of the old students who clapped away cheeringly. I felt delighted too. My happiness was however truncated by something that happened to me. I was amazed because that was quite something new in my life. I did not know that it was forbidden for any student to talk during a meeting of that nature. But I did by asking a boy who later became my friend what the principal meant by charity begins at home. A senior student caught and asked me to go and kneel down before the gathering. It was the quick intervention of his colleagues that saved me from this embarrassing punishment. After the opening ceremony, students moved to their classrooms. All first years directed base on their choice of courses to their classes. During the school hours, there was no teaching. Teachers came to our classes only to introduce themselves. This was because it was the first day at school. Both students and school teachers discussed their experiences during the vacation and expressed the joy of
Meeting again.

8260CA52-6D3A-4D28-9036-36E295F2DCD5.jpeg

When it was 2 o’clock, classes ended and we the borders went to our dormitories. While in our dormitories, the bell rang and I was told that was lunchtime. At the dinning hall, Lucy was served. The food I had was quite small but that was my share. I hungrily ate my food and left the dinning hall. After lunch every student seemed stronger so some found themselves on the school field to engage in sports or be a spectator. I joined the latter group.

E1EF6864-E07E-46C0-9D56-5B8CB96E9AAB.jpeg

Time on the field seemed another bell rang for supper. I left the field for supper togetherness new friend that I met on the field. Supper was was shorter than lunch. We retired to the dormitory. The house prefect at the dormitory told the entire house to leave for prep. That evenings prep was noisier than a market session. Students freely make noise. When prep was over I rushed to the dormitory because I felt sleepy. I slept that night and did not dream because I was really tired. My day in school was in fact memorable. For the first time I my life, I met students from almost every part of the country

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64019.81
ETH 2644.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84