You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Contests

Yes it it right that not everyone likes writing . But we should organize a contest in which a writer is not bounded to a single topic. The topic is writers own wish . For doing that a person who wants to write shares idea will write according to that and If a person wants to show our day spend diary game will do . That would be better

Sort:  

The problem is contests started because many have no idea what to write about and how.

The diaries are all the same and again the issue is: Most diary writers do not know how to write anything.

Do all those who join keep a diary? I doubt it. Not even 1%

The solution?

 4 days ago (edited)

Then there is only way to give them a topic to write freely. Just example

happiness

Those who want to share the happy moments they will. And writers who want the creative writing tell the importance of happiness or what they want to be...
In short any topic should be selected so that a person freely write about it what they want to share with no restrictions of words .

The problem is contests started because
a) participants are not being rewarded properly;
b) because of bad manual judgement;
c) due to little participation we have tiny figures like 5-10 or dozen entries (often they are from the same folks, again and again) which makes no real rivalry;
d) really creative persons (not just farmers) rapidly loose the intrest and cancel activity when they are getting back a weak response, be it feedback or upvotes/payouts.

there are probably e) and f) as well, etc.

 12 hours ago 

I participated (once in a while I still do) and I host contests.
You made me think with your answer.

As a host I noticed it doesn't matte how high the prize is. I tried 15 steem, not more participants, I also had less those who join are indeed mainly the same and.. I have to ask them after a few days after posting. They join but I think they are busy or asked too frequently and if it comes to it you invest in answering replies and do not check if you are mentioned.
If an contest is only joined by a max of 3 people it's not worth hosting at least it is how it felt to me back then. Today I believe the contests I host are more interesting, more engagement and the entries are of a higher level. For sure not everyone is able to join but I don't see that as a bad thing. It is nice to learn something new with a group.

If it comes to a) I like to add: the host is not rewarded properly either. For many years I hosted contests and I support others who do and I pay all prizes myself and always did. I wrote a lot to scratch those Steem together to be able to. What I miss is people who join a contest out of fun. If it's all about being paid only there's no engagement and to be fair the average entry to a contest is of low quality.

With the rest I agree and for sure there is an e), f) and more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59159.44
ETH 2522.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47