SteemFoods Contest -12-| Promote Your Favorite Fish Shop ! | "The Juncal Avenue Fish Store"steemCreated with Sketch.

in SteemFoods3 years ago

When I received the cordial invitation from @alikoc07 to participate in this contest, I thought that I would not be able to participate, since the closest fish store to my house is about 30 minutes away by car, and considering the gasoline problem we have in Venezuela, I always prefer to resort to the home delivery service.

However, I took advantage of the fact that my husband and I had to go downtown for other provisions and we decided to stop by the fish store.

This fish store is strategically located in the heart of my city, specifically on Juncal Avenue in the city of Maturin. For this reason, it is one of the most visited. It has a very friendly staff, who assist and advise you to choose the best fish for you based on your needs.

Name of the fish store: Inversiones y Pescadería Juncal C.A.
Location: Juncal Avenue. Maturín, Monagas State - Venezuela.

At home my children don't like to eat fish very much because they are afraid of the bones, so the first thing I look for when I buy fish, is that it has very few bones, that it has bright eyes to ensure that it is really fresh, and that it is white meat; red meat fish tend to raise my triglyceride levels.

One of the reasons I choose this fish store, is because they bring the fish directly from the coast, where they receive them from the fishermen themselves, so there is a guarantee of a fresh and quality product.

Fish for sale.

In addition, in the store their workers cut and clean the fish very well before delivering it to me, saving me that work at home.

Inside the fish store.

In this opportunity, they had for sale both fresh and salted fish, particularly I am not very fond of salted fish, although I recognize that you can cook some delicious tortillas with them. There were also fresh clams.

Fresh fish.

Fresh clams.

I love seafood, however on this occasion they had no seafood in the store, no shrimp, prawns, squid, or octopus, which are my favorite seafood.

As far as sales prices are concerned, these range between $2 and $4 per kilogram, and you should know that although in Venezuela the legal tender is the Bolivar, our currency is so devalued that everything is traded in dollars.

Price list

I have opted for the bonito fish "bonita blaca", which is a smooth skinned fish, with very few scales, few bones and white flesh, as I like it. This one cost me $2.5 per kilo.

The "bonita blanca" is the one in first place, followed by the tuna.

Satisfied with my purchase and with the attention received at the fish store.

This one, like many other businesses in the area, does not issue bills, because of the tax issue.

We are not much consumers of fish at home, although we should, I know, however I try that we do at least 2 or 3 times a month, time in which I can go to the fish store or order home delivery.

Whenever I buy fish I like to cook it the same day. So when I return home I have decided to bake the fish slices with a little bit of garlic, onion, lemon, salt and pepper.



Meanwhile, with the head of the fish, I have prepared a delicious broth with vegetables and coriander, as a starter for lunch.




Bonito is a blue fish recommended in diets to prevent cardiovascular diseases, thanks to its content in omega-3 fatty acids that help reduce both cholesterol and triglyceride levels.


All photographs are my own, taken with an iPhone 7 apple device

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80